Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Great recipe! My husband loved it! I couldn't find New Mexico chiles, so I used chile guajillo instead and added some cumin and a pinch of Mexican oregano to it. After simmering for 3 hours the meat was so tender...delicious! I'll definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I wasn't impressed by this dish, I had high hopes with the good reviews. Maybe my changes were to blame? My only changes were, I used stew meat and cooked it in the crock pot. I did brown it first though! By itself, it wasn't too appealing, however, we did doctor them up for some tacos. So it wasn't completely a bust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Great chili recipe - especially for low carbers. I used stew meat, didn't dredge it in flour or brown it, and threw it into the crock pot with the pureed chili's and all of the soaking liquid. I added a little garlic and cumin. Served with black beans on the side for those that wanted along with cheese, sour cream, and some chopped raw onion. Definetely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Awesome, authentic recipe! We made this for company last night and it was a huge success! The only changes we made were adding a few more seasonings to the sauce: garlic, thyme, salt, cumin, etc. But overall, we were very impressed with this recipe and will make it many more times in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe 3 times now and it's always delicious! It's definately worth the time and effort to make this authentic mexican chile. Thanks Helena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
A southern Californian all my life, I grew up eating great Mexican dishes. This Chile Colorado is the real deal. We ate ourselves silly-and then my adult children took away ALL the leftovers. (Recipe makes a lot,) Thanks, Helena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Simply AMAZING! This is one of my favorite dishes to order out, so nice to be able to make this at home. I used California chilies, it was the perfect amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Excellent. I ahve made it twice with similar results. I have used the pre-cut stew meat from Costco (about $15 for 6 pounds). I could not find New Mexico Chiles in California, so I used a 3 oz. bag of California dried Chiles and 3 Guajillo dried pods for heat. I used a 32 oz beef stock box from Trader Joes, 2 onions, and I added all the water from the steeping into the blender. After 3 hours of simmering, the liquid reduces by about half and it is phenomonal. Many Thanks.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of tomato based dishes, nor do I care for beans in chili. I was looking for an authentic yet easy version of Chile Colorado (my 2nd favorite to Chile Verde) and this recipe is it! It's truly an authentic dish like you would get a Mexican restaurant. Making the chili "sauce" was really neat - taking dried chilis and turning it into a suace. I actually pureed the chilis in the "soaking" water, making a "sauce" about the consistency of a thick "cream of chicken" soup. I too cut back a little on the beef broth, as I want a really thick sauce. I just took a sneak taste of the sauce - incredible! Thanks for posting the recipe! I know this will be something I will make many more times! Joseph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE. BE IT FOR THE GANG WATCHING FOOTBALL OR A FAMILY MEAL, THEY ARE ALWAYS ASKING FOR MORE. ALWAYS A CROWD PLEASER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: North Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States