Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Wonderful authetic chili! Yes, it is simple, but it's simplicity that makes it so fabulous! My only change is I cooked 4 slices of bacon chopped and then browned the beef and onions in the drippings. It really adds a richness to the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I have used this recipe many times over the past couple of years. I have tried it with different cuts , always lean beef. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly but the chile flavor didn't come through. I think that browning the meat in flour killed it. Next time I will double the chile and skip the flour all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
We decided this is the BEST chili we have had. (as did others!) Be sure to add cumin, garlic powder, onion for more taste. At the end of cooking time, we added 2 cans of dark red kidney beans (drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
i made this recipe for my mexican husband, and he LOVED it, i enjoyed it as well. i added cumin, garlic, onion powder, thyme and increased salt & pepper. served with chopped onion, fresh lime, cilantro & corn tortillas. my husband said it was one of the best dishes i have ever made.( and he is hard to please) thankyou for sharing this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zaragoza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it didn't taste like much, beef stew as some others said. One change I made was ground chuck, and it came out really greasy, so maybe I am to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is the second time I've made it. This time I used cubed beef stew meat and cut it up some into smaller pieces, but still much easier. I could only find a few decent chile peppers this time around, so it ended up tasting more like carne guisada instead of chile rojo. With the right size chiles, excellent and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was good, but didn't taste like chile colorado. I think it needs more spices than just the new mexico chiles. It ended up tasting like beef stew, how weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Wow...my husband likes this one better than our local restaurant...and very easy. Thanks! You've made him a happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States