Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband's favorite dish to order at Mexican Restaurants is Chile Colorado. Now, with this recipe we can make it just like at the restaurant, but for a lot less money. We used dried California Chilies, which seemed to work very well. Great recipe! Make sure to allow time for the beef to cook and become very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was not what I expected. Not very flavorful at all and not worth all the work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Although this recipe took a while to make, it was well worth it. It came out great, and i was able to enjoy it with some rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Delious, Spicey & Savory ! I LOVE it I also like the process, a labor of love. Well worth the time to make. I dusted the meat with Wondra, I am sure I didn't use a half cup, I also added some beer to the sause. This is one of my all time favs to order out now I can have it at home. Hats off to to the person who submitted this recipe and Thank You !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This sounds a little bit like a recipe that I have been looking for. My husband's brother showed me how to make it, but he called it "caldo rojo." It's not exactly the same, but I can't really remember exactly how to make it. Do you have any tips? I would ask him, but he has gone back to Mexico, and my poor husband is not the cook of the family. If anyone can give me any advice, I'd really like to have some! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
WOW, if you love Chili Colorado this is the real thing. It takes a little extra time because you start with dried chilies but it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I did something wrong here. The directions said to DREDGE the meat in flour, which to me means to coat it on all sides. You simply cannot dredge 5 pounds of cubed roast in 1/2 cup of flour, so I used as much flour as it took to dredge all the meat. BIG BIG MISTAKE, don't do it. I ended up with, instead of sauce, a nasty red paste covering the meat. I will try it again soon, but this time I will only SPRINKLE a 1/2 cup of flour over the 5 pounds of cut up meat!!! It will be more like a seasoning than a dredging. I bet it will be terrific, because I LOVE chile colorado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My wife made this recipe this past weekend and it was good but I agree with some of the other reviewers that using the flour kills the flavor of the chilis. We are going to try it without using the flour on the meat but use a little to thicken the sauce if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This recipe was just okay. It tasted like a kind-of-spicy pot roast. Too much work to be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Helena, Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I made it yesterday and we all loved it! I will definitely make again. It does take some effort but it is well worth it. I added it to bean and cheese burritos! I added cumin, mexican oregano, garlic, thyme, chili powder and a bay leaf for the first hour of cooking. It reminded me of Tito's Tacos in Los Angeles and the meat they use. Very well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States