Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent!! We couldn't stop tasting it while it was simmering it was so good. I followed the original recipe and added all of the other ingredients suggested in the comments. Next time I will use stew meat instead because cutting and trimming the meat was very time consuming. Thank you for the best Chile Colorado I've had since moving away from our favorite restaurant 15 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Started the recipe as is, but found that the it was bland and without much flavor. Ended up adding 1 tbsp of cumin and about 5 cloves of garlic (pressed...would add in the puree next time), with these additions it's a 4 star, but as is this recipe is only a 3 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe ROCKS! I kept thinking as I was browning little pieces of meat, that this had better be worth it!! Then I was also thinking that I'd add cumin & garlic towards the end of cooking... but it smelled and looked soooo good that I didn't want to risk ruining it (and I add cumin to EVERYTHING) I just made it as is and I will never make it any other way. My husband LOVED this! Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
spectacular! my husband's from Salinas, a farming city in CA and he LOVES Mexican food, the more authentic the better. We can't get it here in CT so it's up to me. This recipe is a bit of work but it is worth every minute of the effort. I have a huge batch cooking now. I'll freeze it in portions so we have this for a while. My small changes are that I puree a large fresh tomato, 3 cloves of garlic with the chilis. Then add a bay leaf and small pinch of Mexican oregano to the sauce for the first couple of hours of cooking. Also I sprinkle the flour, pepper & salt on the meat...not much...just enough to make a light coating so it browns nicely. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Thank you so much for publishing this recipe - I made it today for a family birthday and it went down a treat. Thanks to Jen Z for the serving suggestion - Limes, Cilantro, Onion and Corn tortillas were perfect. The flavor of the beef was fantastic and worth every minute of the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by music2work2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this tonight for my husband and he loved it!! I added some cumin towards the end. The only thing I would recommend is to cut back on the salt a little. It was a tad bit too salty. But other than that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe. It's not spicy at all, which makes it a great base recipe. You can split up the batch and add some heat for the people that like it and leave it mellow for everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe, just what I was looking for. Easy and Tasty. The only changes I made was not using the flour, I didn’t feel it was needed. The chili broth will thicken while cooking with the lid removed. I did add Garlic to the onions and some oregano to the chili puree. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Really great recipe for authentic Mexican red chile...To make it perfect for me I added/changed as follows: 2 pounds cubed meat (I know, it's a lot less) 4 c total water for recipe, all of which I add to puree with the chiles, add 1 1/2T cumin, 1T chile powder, 1T crushed red pepper, 1t Mexican oregano, 1/4t thyme, and 2 cloves minced garlic. Use remainder of flour to thicken, sauce should be slightly thick and gravy-like when done. Thanks for a super recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband's favorite dish to order at Mexican Restaurants is Chile Colorado. Now, with this recipe we can make it just like at the restaurant, but for a lot less money. We used dried California Chilies, which seemed to work very well. Great recipe! Make sure to allow time for the beef to cook and become very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States