Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was very good! It was a little bland for us at first though so I added some cumin, mexican oregano, and garlic powder. My hubby loved it, but I thought a pinch if chili powder would have really taken it to another level. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
If I could give it 10 stars I would!!! I did add alittle more salt to it and thickened it up a tad at the end with some corn starch... and it was SO GOOD! My family loves Chile Colorado! and my mom always made it when I was a kid, but it was with a Chili mix, it was good, but I wanted to try something more authentic.. I made it for my dad for fathers day and he LOVED IT! Super authentic! makes you feel like you are eating a mexican resturant! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
YUMMY! I am going to add a little more salt, or garlic...something next time to give a little extra oomph. But this was great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was really good. I grew up eating Chile Colorado and am happy to have found this recipe. The interesting thing is Chile Colorado is supposed to be meat with a red sauce, a traditional Hispanic dish. It isn't supposed to be made with beans thrown in it as a typical chili (not chile) would have so I am confused when people add beans to this dish. i come from a Hispanic family and they have all made it with the meat and red sauce. Anyhow, this recipe is perfect. I made it with pork roast instead, which I cut up. I also couldn't find any New Mexico chiles so used California chiles and added some New Mexico chile powder, about 1 tsp, to the sauce mixture. Since I used pork, I used chicken broth, 2 cups, to the pot. Served with rice, beans and tortillas. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This chile had excellent flavor but is definitely a labor of love. Next time I will buy the meat already cut up to save some time, and possibly leave out the flour?? maybe... I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I found it nearly impossible to brown the meat in the simmering pot. I ended up browning the meat in a skillet. With that said I'd still make it again just with a few small changes in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was my first time trying Chili Colorado. It was not difficult and I liked the finished product. I followed the recipe, will make again but I will experiment with some spices to give it a little more kick! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Best thing I ever prepared, according to friends. I had some trouble with the straining, so probably didn't get as much of the chiles as I should have. Also only let it cook for 2 hours, so the sauce wasn't as thick as it should've been. Even with those mistakes, it still came out superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good recipe! I added 2T. minced garlic, 1t. Mexican oregano, 1/2t. ground cinnamon, 1/2 t. cayenne, 1/2 t. ground cumin and 1/2 t. ground coriander seed and it was great. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent!! We couldn't stop tasting it while it was simmering it was so good. I followed the original recipe and added all of the other ingredients suggested in the comments. Next time I will use stew meat instead because cutting and trimming the meat was very time consuming. Thank you for the best Chile Colorado I've had since moving away from our favorite restaurant 15 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Started the recipe as is, but found that the it was bland and without much flavor. Ended up adding 1 tbsp of cumin and about 5 cloves of garlic (pressed...would add in the puree next time), with these additions it's a 4 star, but as is this recipe is only a 3 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States