Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is absolutely the perfect recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I sought out this recipe after enjoying Chile Colorado at a local Mexican place. Great base recipe. Suggestions: - Use scissors to snip the tops off the chiles, then cut a seam lengthwise on the pepper. This makes it easy to open the pepper and pull out the seeds. - Use a stick blender to puree the chiles directly in the pot you re-hydrated them in. Much easier than transferring to a pitcher blender. One addition to try - 1 can tomato paste and 1-2 tsp sugar to chile puree after straining. Garlic powder, oregano, and cumin can be added to the seasoned flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I got the same result came out like beef stew. maybe used to much flour next time will my m-i-l recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was very good! It was a little bland for us at first though so I added some cumin, mexican oregano, and garlic powder. My hubby loved it, but I thought a pinch if chili powder would have really taken it to another level. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
If I could give it 10 stars I would!!! I did add alittle more salt to it and thickened it up a tad at the end with some corn starch... and it was SO GOOD! My family loves Chile Colorado! and my mom always made it when I was a kid, but it was with a Chili mix, it was good, but I wanted to try something more authentic.. I made it for my dad for fathers day and he LOVED IT! Super authentic! makes you feel like you are eating a mexican resturant! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
YUMMY! I am going to add a little more salt, or garlic...something next time to give a little extra oomph. But this was great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was really good. I grew up eating Chile Colorado and am happy to have found this recipe. The interesting thing is Chile Colorado is supposed to be meat with a red sauce, a traditional Hispanic dish. It isn't supposed to be made with beans thrown in it as a typical chili (not chile) would have so I am confused when people add beans to this dish. i come from a Hispanic family and they have all made it with the meat and red sauce. Anyhow, this recipe is perfect. I made it with pork roast instead, which I cut up. I also couldn't find any New Mexico chiles so used California chiles and added some New Mexico chile powder, about 1 tsp, to the sauce mixture. Since I used pork, I used chicken broth, 2 cups, to the pot. Served with rice, beans and tortillas. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This chile had excellent flavor but is definitely a labor of love. Next time I will buy the meat already cut up to save some time, and possibly leave out the flour?? maybe... I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I found it nearly impossible to brown the meat in the simmering pot. I ended up browning the meat in a skillet. With that said I'd still make it again just with a few small changes in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was my first time trying Chili Colorado. It was not difficult and I liked the finished product. I followed the recipe, will make again but I will experiment with some spices to give it a little more kick! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Best thing I ever prepared, according to friends. I had some trouble with the straining, so probably didn't get as much of the chiles as I should have. Also only let it cook for 2 hours, so the sauce wasn't as thick as it should've been. Even with those mistakes, it still came out superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States