Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I like to follow recipes just as they are..so I made this one and according to my husband he said it was Super Delish!! I love mexican food, so im picky on it having an authentic taste, to me it was Good and definately worth making however I will keep this recipe until i find a more authentic one. Dont be discourage Its an easy recipe to follow I just like to try new ones. This was my first time doing this dish but like i said I love mexican food so I eat a lot of mexican food, even though im not mexican ; ) but hubby is! One more thing make sure you do this with enough time as it will take a long time for it to be done. Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is exactly how my family and I make chile colorado. It's pretty weird to log in and see this while browsing :) This is very tasty served with rice on the side too, and soft corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Oh my God...finally! this is the way my mom used to make it for many generations. This is a real traditional recipe. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this recipe pretty much as directed, using beef stock. It was amazing and really easy. It was as good and better than some you find in restaraunts. I added a bit of cornstarch mixed w/ cold water at the end to thicken it some. This recie is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I would give this a 5 star only after I made changes. It was okay as is, but this is not the chile colorado I'm used to. I added 8-10 chile de arbol peppers to this, cumin, garlic, and chili powder. Then it was awesome!! I will make it again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Amazing! We didn't change anything and it was perfect! Only thing I would do differnt next time is make it a day before so the flavors can develope a little more. I served it over rice, and had beans as a side dish. For those who can't find New Mexico Chiles in California, I found mine in "Hispanic Foods" aisle at WinCo. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This recipe was exceptional! I did add garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is absolutely the perfect recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I sought out this recipe after enjoying Chile Colorado at a local Mexican place. Great base recipe. Suggestions: - Use scissors to snip the tops off the chiles, then cut a seam lengthwise on the pepper. This makes it easy to open the pepper and pull out the seeds. - Use a stick blender to puree the chiles directly in the pot you re-hydrated them in. Much easier than transferring to a pitcher blender. One addition to try - 1 can tomato paste and 1-2 tsp sugar to chile puree after straining. Garlic powder, oregano, and cumin can be added to the seasoned flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States