Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Im Mexican and I am very picky when it comes to hispanic food. my boyfriend and his dad love mex food (they are white AHAHA) and they loved this recipe. I started cooking 2 years ago when I was 20 and always looking for great easy recipes.I added some extra seasoning called Jezebel to it and also some chiles de arbol because they like it hot and some chopped red potatoes . I loved this dish and love that youdont need many ingredients. also took the tiny bit of leftovers for my dad to try who is from mexico and always tells it like it his. He said it was good =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome!! I love Chile Colorado and wanted to cook it myself, and this one turned out just wonderful! I actually did find New Mexico chiles at my local VONS, and they had a wonderful flavor to them. My only changes in this recipe was that I used pork instead of beef, since this is how I've had Chile Colorado in the past and I love it, and since I used pork I also used chicken stock rather than beef, just to match the flavors better. I also followed scuba_steve's advice and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, cayenne and cumin, the extra spice was a wonderful addition. I just know this will become one of my favorite recipes, I will definitely make this one again. I served it with sour cream & cheddar on top, and we also had tortillas with it, it just completes the meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Amazing!! I did make some tweaks tho. Used Guajillo Chili Peppers instead. Added Cumin seeds, cumin powder, smoked Paprika, mexican orgeno and minced garlic. Served over white rice seasoned with toasted cumin seeds. Just the right amount of heat. Will make again and again. Might try pork too next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
If I could I would rate this a 10! I read the reviews and thought I would try it. I was not expecting it to be so wonderful!!! I made it for our Super Bowl Party....it was the first thing gone and I now need to give out the recipe....Hmmm...I think I may have to keep it my "little" secret. : ) I made just as the recipe reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I couldn't find New Mexico chiles, so I used all Guajillo chiles instead and the flavor was incredible. The only other thing I added was some cumin. This recipe makes a great dish. We took it to an international dinner at church and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Bump

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Had this a lot in New Mexico with Pork. One place I loved and quite famous can't remember the name outside of Santa Fe. They would serve it with fried shredded hash browns, the saucy meat rolled inside a flour tortilla and topped with sour cream and some extra sauce. Delicious! We love this recipe TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Field

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Great recipe. I made it for my hubby and in laws who came to visit and boy did they love it. My father in law who is a light eater, had 2 plates! I wasn't able to remove the skin after puree and it still came out good. It was a bit bland for my taste so I added a pinch of garlic powder and a pinch of ground cumin. About 10 mins prior to serving, I added cilantro. I served it with sour cream, tapatio and chopped green onions. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good basic recipe. Gets people onto working with dried chilies. I used guajillos, only thing handy. I would blend a few other varieties in next time, just watch the heat factor. Agree with scuba steve, adjustments are fun! I also added dried oregano, cumin, and fresh garlic...mmm. Also added some fresh celery and carrots with the onions! (mirepoix) What the heck, I'm a cook! good eating! I use a chinois for sieving the chile puree. does NOT taste like beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I always try to put my spin on recipes, so this one I tried exactly and it came out PERFECT! Thanks Varissul I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States