Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
There is a restaurant in our town that has chile colorado on the menu and it is my absolute favorite! I was craving it one day and decided I wanted to see if I could make something similar so I went looking for a recipe when I came across this one. I'm so thrilled to have tried it, it was exactly what I was looking for! This is just as good as the restaurant if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made a few additions: I added 5 cloves of garlic and may add some more next time. I omitted the onions as I don't eat them. I added 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp ground coriander & 1/2 tsp cayenne. I might mix the chiles next time and add a guajillo to make it a little spicy. A good starter recipe. I cooked it all in a dutch oven and it turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was amazing! But, I added my own flare to it and followed a little of other reviewers suggesions. I seared the meat, dunked in flour (salt/pepper/garlic salt mix) on all sides, I then cut up a medium onion and lined the bottom of the crock pot with the onion... sprinkled garlic powder, ground cinnamon and cumin on top of the onion, then added the seared beef. I steamed the chilles til tender, removed the stems and rinced the seeds with luke water (no need to strain the chilles) then added them in a blender with the reserved chille water and beef stock from a can. This is where the EXTRA flare camer in... I roasted three small red bell peppers, 5 small roma tomatoes and one jalapeno... deseeded the peppers and blended everything together for the sauce. Poured over the beef and cooked on high for 4.5 hours. The beef was a melt in your mouth with shredded cheddar and sour cream for the finishing touches. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this last night and added fresh cilantro, cumin and some chili powder. I poured it over rice and topped it off with chopped green onions. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven.....fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I thought the recepie was missing something when I checked out the ingredients so I read the reviews and found what I felt was missing, the Mexican spices. I added oregano, a bit of cumin and yes garlic, I took it a step further and added green bell pepper. I will be making this for sure my family LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this for the first time the other day. I have never used equivalent servings of salt and pepper in a recipe before, and should not have this time either. This recipe has way to much pepper. Will try again using only 1 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I agree with the other comment it was good but didn't taste like Chile Colorado, i will make it again and add more chili and the spices as suggest in other comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is an absolutely delicious recipe, it comes out with very rich deep flavor. I made this for our "spicy food night" and chopped up 6 additional habaneros into it and it came out perrrfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe rocks! It is extraordinary. I will never go back to chil"i" recipes. First, I used pork. Butt to be exact. Second, I browned the dredged pieces as I always do--on my two burner pancake griddle--they are well separated and truly brown, they do not release juices and steam. I do this for all stews. Works every time. Third, not having New Mexican chiles I sub'ed Guajillo chiles and some Anchos. Both hotter varieties but not crazy hot. I buy them from Penzeys and they were wonderful. A great heat that did not mask the depth of the pepper flavor. Fourth, I love beans so I added pintos at the end. Fifth, I added garlic but nothing else. I think oregano or cumin would ruin the straight up chile flavor. Note--I wrote chilE, not chili. There is a big difference there! And it is the essence of this recipe. Last, I saw a recipe like this one which added a TB of vinegar and a TB or two of sugar. I did this and it deepened all the flavors. This dish is extremely good and not much work. Make it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wow... I have this simmering right now and I can't stop tasting the sauce. Very very good. I used pork and had the butcher at the market cube it for me. I read the other reviews which suggested a little more spice, so with the onions, I added a green bell pepper and to the chiles I added 3 small dried de arbol peppers and blended them all together to give the sauce a little kick. I also added garlic and cumin. Amazing. I will definately make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States