Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I rated it a 4 because I needed to jazz it up a bit. I added 4 garlic gloves, 1tsp cumin & 1 tsp corriander. At the end I thickened up the sauce with 2 tsp corn starch. My hubby loved it. Also, brown the meat and then saute the onions so that you can pick up the drippings in the onions. If it would not have been so bland to begin with it would have received 5 stars. Now with the adjustments I made its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
There is a restaurant in our town that has chile colorado on the menu and it is my absolute favorite! I was craving it one day and decided I wanted to see if I could make something similar so I went looking for a recipe when I came across this one. I'm so thrilled to have tried it, it was exactly what I was looking for! This is just as good as the restaurant if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made a few additions: I added 5 cloves of garlic and may add some more next time. I omitted the onions as I don't eat them. I added 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp ground coriander & 1/2 tsp cayenne. I might mix the chiles next time and add a guajillo to make it a little spicy. A good starter recipe. I cooked it all in a dutch oven and it turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was amazing! But, I added my own flare to it and followed a little of other reviewers suggesions. I seared the meat, dunked in flour (salt/pepper/garlic salt mix) on all sides, I then cut up a medium onion and lined the bottom of the crock pot with the onion... sprinkled garlic powder, ground cinnamon and cumin on top of the onion, then added the seared beef. I steamed the chilles til tender, removed the stems and rinced the seeds with luke water (no need to strain the chilles) then added them in a blender with the reserved chille water and beef stock from a can. This is where the EXTRA flare camer in... I roasted three small red bell peppers, 5 small roma tomatoes and one jalapeno... deseeded the peppers and blended everything together for the sauce. Poured over the beef and cooked on high for 4.5 hours. The beef was a melt in your mouth with shredded cheddar and sour cream for the finishing touches. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this last night and added fresh cilantro, cumin and some chili powder. I poured it over rice and topped it off with chopped green onions. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven.....fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I thought the recepie was missing something when I checked out the ingredients so I read the reviews and found what I felt was missing, the Mexican spices. I added oregano, a bit of cumin and yes garlic, I took it a step further and added green bell pepper. I will be making this for sure my family LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this for the first time the other day. I have never used equivalent servings of salt and pepper in a recipe before, and should not have this time either. This recipe has way to much pepper. Will try again using only 1 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I agree with the other comment it was good but didn't taste like Chile Colorado, i will make it again and add more chili and the spices as suggest in other comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is an absolutely delicious recipe, it comes out with very rich deep flavor. I made this for our "spicy food night" and chopped up 6 additional habaneros into it and it came out perrrfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe rocks! It is extraordinary. I will never go back to chil"i" recipes. First, I used pork. Butt to be exact. Second, I browned the dredged pieces as I always do--on my two burner pancake griddle--they are well separated and truly brown, they do not release juices and steam. I do this for all stews. Works every time. Third, not having New Mexican chiles I sub'ed Guajillo chiles and some Anchos. Both hotter varieties but not crazy hot. I buy them from Penzeys and they were wonderful. A great heat that did not mask the depth of the pepper flavor. Fourth, I love beans so I added pintos at the end. Fifth, I added garlic but nothing else. I think oregano or cumin would ruin the straight up chile flavor. Note--I wrote chilE, not chili. There is a big difference there! And it is the essence of this recipe. Last, I saw a recipe like this one which added a TB of vinegar and a TB or two of sugar. I did this and it deepened all the flavors. This dish is extremely good and not much work. Make it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States