Chile Colorado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Love, love, love this recipe and so does my family! The only thing I do differently is add a little crushed red pepper since we like it with a little more fire. I also use a mixed assortment of dried chili's depending on what I'm feeling...Chili Negro, Chili California besides the New Mexico. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYGAL

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A little bit of work but great Chili Colorado. Brother liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This tasted like beef stew and the sauce was way too thick. I added spices after sampling it, but it still tasted nothing like Chile Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Good and so easy. I left out the onions and skipped browning the meat and just threw everything in the slow cooker. When I came home I strained out the extra water and added salt, cumin, a little flour to thicken it and tomato paste for some sweetness. My boyfriend LOVED it. Served with Mexican rice and refried beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was my first attempt at making my beloved Chile Colorado. Unfortunately, while my husband liked it, I was a bit disappointed in the outcome. I followed the recipe exactly but found the flour made the sauce rather pasty and detracted from the flavor. I used just regular "New Mexico dried chiles", but think this needs the ones that specifically say "hot" and maybe some seasoning changes. Thank you for a good starting point on working with dried chiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a great recipe. I moved from CA to WI 5 years ago, only to find out that the Mexican restaurants here don't have two things that I love..chili colorado and Sunday brunch. I wanted a bit more flavor, so I added 1 tsp of garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, salt, and chili powder. This is as good as the chili colorado in my favorite mexican restaurant in CA, but it's not quite as hot. If you like your chili colorado with a bit more heat, substitute some or all of the dried chilis with something with more kick. I did depart from the general preparation a little. after I sauteed the onions, I put them in the blender with the chili puree and pureed them in. The sauce did come out a little thinner than I wanted it, so I added 1/4 cup cold water with 2 tbsp corn starch and that made it the perfect consistency. To those who have commented that it came out like beef stew..you either have a strange idea of stew is or you did it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is awesome! My husband and I used to live in California and his favorite dish at his favorite Mexican restaurant was chile colorado. We've tried to copy their sauce with little success. With a few tweaks, this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Roth Pochmara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I also added some cumin and garlic followed the directions and my sauce was SO bitter! It was really inedible. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I rated it a 4 because I needed to jazz it up a bit. I added 4 garlic gloves, 1tsp cumin & 1 tsp corriander. At the end I thickened up the sauce with 2 tsp corn starch. My hubby loved it. Also, brown the meat and then saute the onions so that you can pick up the drippings in the onions. If it would not have been so bland to begin with it would have received 5 stars. Now with the adjustments I made its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
There is a restaurant in our town that has chile colorado on the menu and it is my absolute favorite! I was craving it one day and decided I wanted to see if I could make something similar so I went looking for a recipe when I came across this one. I'm so thrilled to have tried it, it was exactly what I was looking for! This is just as good as the restaurant if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States