Chile Basil Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This Thai inspired flavor makes a very EASY, yet impressive dish. My family asks for it weekly since their first taste & I have picky eaters! I've served it with rice & broccoli (I've also chopped it & stirred it all together for a single dish). It's also a good dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
All in all this was an okay recipe. I think it had a slightly odd flavor (can't figure out just what it was) but it was completely eaten at dinner so it wasn't bad. I don't think I'll make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Excellent, my friends loved it. I added some slices of ginger for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I subbed siracha for the chile peppers and left out the sesame seeds. this is my single favorite marinade of all time. very different - not your run of the mill. If you don't like it at least a little hot, stay away - probably not for the kiddies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
too much of a soy sauce taste, overpowered any other flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I haven't been cooking very long, but when I got married a month and a half ago, I knew it was time to start. I found this recipe and thought it sounded good. Oh my goodness! It's to die for! It was delicious and my husband LOVED it, too. I will definitely be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
The 24 hours of marinating time is way too long, which made the meat extremely salty. Otherwise it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I marinated the chicken for about 24 hours prior to BBQing. The soy sauce overpowered the flavour of any other ingredient in the marinade and left the chicken quite salty, but tender. If I do make this again, I would reduce the soy sauce substantially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was really tasty. The flavor wasn't TOO overpowering but definitely not bland. Changes I Made: Omitted the chile peppers and instead added a couple dashes of crushed red pepper flakes and Siracha chile sauce, Omitted fresh basil and added LOTS of dashes of dried basil (because I had no fresh). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I love it! It is my familys favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States