Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Frosting for the "gluing" of the house, but particularly easy to work with, and held it together beautifully. The rest, of course, was yummy. Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I definitely added extra flour, but not until I had refrigerated the dough for an hour. After finding the dough was still quite sticky, I kneaded in three quarter cups of flour. Otherwise it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a disappointment. The dough was too stretchy. Once I cut the pieces out, I could not tranfer them to the baking sheet as the pieces would stretch out of shape. So I had to roll out the dough directly on the sheet and cut the shape out there, thus being able to bake just one piece at a time. The icing is a mess. It is very thick and only wants to stick to itself, not to the gingerbread house. After using A LOT of it, we were able to get the house together but that much icing really detracts from the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
If you are hesitant to make an icing/glue with raw eggs in it, I suggest picking up some meringue powder (local craft stores usually carry it, and it can be bought online). To make royal icing with meringue powder, you use 3 TBS meringue powder, 1 pound sifted confectioners' sugar, and 4-5 TBS warm water... Mix 5-10 minutes until it forms peaks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious gingerbread, though I omitted the lemon zest and juice and used mace and cinnamon in place of the allspice. I have my dough refridgerating right now, however I made a few drop cookies as testers and they were GONE in less than 2 minutes. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was a lot of fun. Make sure you give yourself a few days to get it done. It doesn't pay to rush it. It also helps if you have a second pair of hands. The frosting is definitely as good as glue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This turned out so good and so fun for my kids. I made 2 batches for our 3 houses. The first batch I made exactly as written and it turned out perfect! The 2nd batch, I left out the baking powder and of course, it gave me a flatter cookie, but this way I did NOT have to trim the cookie after it came out of the oven, it was a little flatter and more crisp and I actually liked it a little better. Both were great,and my girls and I had a blast decorating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phaewryn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This review is for the ICING and assembly tips only, as I used a different recipe for the actual cookies (Gingerbread Men): This icing is easy to make and holds like GLUE! It's perfect, and hardens well enough to keep decorating in 2 hours (at least in my low humidity area). I'm so happy with how our first ever gingerbread house turned out that I'm submitting my pictures. I did not use any frame, I simply glued the cookies together as directed in this recipe, walls first, wait one hour til dry, then roof added, wait another hour or two, then decorate in two steps. I did make the cookies 3 days in advance, not because they needed to dry that long, just because I got busy and the house had to wait. It turned out great though! I plan to keep this icing recipe on hand for anytime I need an easy to use and very sturdy icing for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I really should have trimed the pieces after they cooked. I had the most crooked house in town. It was still cute but not as pretty as it could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
its laking capasity leAVES MUCH OT BE DISIRED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States