Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ROSEP47
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This needed more spice for both flavor and color. The second time I added cinnamon and a little ground cloves and thought it tasted better. This is a very rich dough for something that will likely be eaten before it goes stale. I think I'll search for one with less butter. Wanted to add that a large turkey pan liner bag is good for protecting the house overnight. Also, a battery operated tea light or mini light string can be put in if you leave a door or window big enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Only giving it four stars because the recipe for the royal icing doesn't work as is and had to add flour to the gingerbread. **Use 3 egg whites (not 2) to 5 cups of powdered sugar and also add 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar. It will come out perfect for piping out of a bag and will dry hard as a rock. **I used honey in place of the molasses simply because I do not like molasses. **On advice of other reviews I also added a full 1 1/2 cups of flour. Gingerbread was exactly the perfect consistency for building. **For anyone who wants to use this for other projects, roll your dough to about the same height as a graham cracker. **Roll dough and score your shapes BEFORE you refridgerate. It is easier to work with while it is still room temp and you will only have to chill it for about 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani Buhajla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Not the right recipe for a sturdy gingerbread house. Too much butter, not enough flour, too much powder, should be be honey instead of molasses for hard walls. Would have liked more instruction on how thick to roll out dough. Had to search other sites for better instructions and dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. The dough was way too wet. I will buy the kits from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avilla, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! I could not stop eating the batter! I don't usually love gingerbread men, but these are heaven, just out of the oven. I didn't use this recipe for my gingerbread house, but will always use this for my men and piecrust for pumpkin pie (gingerbread crust is great for that). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made this with my 3 year old son. I firmly believe that a gingerbread house should be EATEN. Which we did, after about a day and a half. Please allow yourself the childish pleasure of taking a big bit out of the roof!! I added a bit more spices, but otherwise a perfect recipe. Remember to trim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
We've always bought those kits to make gingerbread houses at Christmas but I'll never do that again - they might as well be cardboard compared to these. So tasty and a lot more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a really great recipe. Time consuming but well worth your efforts! I had to use bread flour but if you're not going to eat the house after you build it, it works just fine. (Remember to use 2 tablespoons less per cup if you have to use bread flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAJEUNIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Hmm. You could find a better recipe. It was way too wet--I'm sure something is skewed in the flour amount, as others have said. And the design of the house is simple and works fine, but it could use much more particular instructions for first-time home-makers. I also got a few bubbles in the slabs of baking gingerbread, which I had to pierce, and had trouble getting the whole thing crisp without the edges being burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States