Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Worked great for my family during Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It would be really helpful to first time makers here such as myself, as to how thin to roll the dough. I ended up with not enough to make a second sidewall. Regarding the ICING. First batch to 'glue' the piece together was the perfect consistency with 2 egg whites and 5 cups of sugar (I added about 2 tablespoons of water to get it just right). The second batch to decorate the house was so incredibly thin that I added about 5 - 6 cups of sugar to get it right. There is no way you can have 4 egg whites and remaining sugar to get it thick. "Remaining sugar" from what? 5 cups? The recipe needs re-writing perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The dough really didn't work. It took me an hour and a half to get them cut out and on the trey, because they were so sticky and soft. It needs much more flour. I did the same thing as many did, I added a lot of more flour. Over all it was pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I don't think I can say enough good things about this recipe. First, the gingerbread dough was really easy to work with. Like everyone else, I had to add more flour. Before adding the extra flour, my dough ball was just goo, almost like brownie batter. After adding an extra cup of flour, it still wouldn't hold in the shape of a ball. I ended up using 5 cups of flour instead of the 3 cups. After that, it was perfect! I chilled it, rolled it out on wax paper, chilled it, cut it, chilled it, flipped the wax paper cut-outs onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet, and then baked it. It didn't swell at all! Usually, when you bake gingerbread houses, you end up having to trim the cookies when they come out of the oven. I didn't have to do ANY trimming with this recipe at all! I also had more than I needed for the gingerbread house. I made all four sides, the roof, extra pieces for support, a few gingerbread cookies to eat, and I still ended up throwing away an orange-sized ball of dough that I didn't need. The frosting really does hold together like glue. Like the dough, the frosting is the PERFECT recipe for a gingerbread house. For the frosting for the construction, I was only able to get 4 cups (not 5) of powdered sugar mixed into the two beaten egg whites. It was too thick to hold any more! It held strong. I think this is the first gingerbread house I ever made that didn't have pieces falling off and driving me nuts! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
i doubled this recipe to try to make a extra large gingerbread house and it was NOT enough. This recipe only makes a TINY gingerbread house :( i had to make my so called HOUSE into cookies.... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njoynbakin
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This gingerbread house turned out really well and it looks really cute! The dough after it hardens overnight is of a strong consistency so you're not afraid it won't hold up for the building process. Definitely would recommend you add 1 or 1 and 1/4 cups additional flour to the dough recipe before attempting to roll it out, or it'll be one sticky mess. And plenty of dough on the rolling board/roller is a must. Roll the dough to 1/4" thick or slightly thinner. Make sure that the cut-out gingerbread house pieces are matching up with the cardboard cut-outs AFTER placing them on the baking sheet. I did this, & mine didn't need to be trimmed at all after baking. And with the gingerbread dough left over, I was able to get 5 little gingerbread boys using my cookie cutter & an extra end wall (spare in case one didn't hold). Now the powdered sugar called for (4 16 oz. bags) is a little too much- had 2 full cups of sifted powdered sugar left over & if I'd tried adding all of it to my icing for the house decorating, it would have broken my mixer. The gingerbread is pretty good tasting, though it's main function is as a building material. This would be a great Christmas project for you to work on with your kids, especially putting all the candies on. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It turned out pretty good, the last gingerbread house I made fell apart upon completion and tasted too wicked for me. But this recipe is pretty tasty. I did make a few changes, but it was mainly becsuse I ran out or didnt have ingredients. First, I 1 1/2 the recipe so I'd have some for cookies too. I only had a tablespoon of ginger instead of 1.5 for my adjustment. And I did not have a lemon to zest, but did have lemon juice, so I added just the adjusted amount. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to make up for the missing ginger, and I did have to add a good amount of flour, as everyone else mentioned. I baked the house pieces for 20 minutes to stiffen them up but the cookies for only 10. Surprisingly though, the house is still quite soft after being out for several days and is starting to get eaten now that the cookies are gone. I did use a different frosting recipe (2 egg whites, 1/3 tsp. cream of tarter, and 3 cup powdered sugar), only because I've used it before with great results. The recipe as is I'd give 4 stars, but after my tweaks, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I didn't do lemon zest and I used my own recipe for the icing. I'd just like to say, I don't think it's fair to complain about a recipe when the instructions were clearly not followed if you needed to add anything extra. The dough was easy to work with since I allowed it to set in the fridge for an hour like the recipe says. I know it would have needed way more flour had I not done that. Sifting the flour after measuring it probably helped as well. I baked mine for 7 minutes, then trimmed the walls and roof back to the correct shape(I also cut out doors and windows half way through baking), and baked it for another 7 minutes. I assembled the house after about 45 minutes of setting and it was just fine(probably because I overcooked it but I was in a bit of a hurry so that was intentional). You can roll it out fairly thin (I wish I had rolled mine thinner) because it raises quite a bit and it's a very sturdy cookie. This was an all day project so if you plan on doing this with young kids the house should be constructed and ready to decorate ahead of time. I made mine with my 7 year old from start to finish and we decorated it right after sticking it together because I didn't want her to have to wait. I admit that was risky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made this with my granddaughter. It turned out great! Right consistency, directions were perfect. I might try different designs now and then, but the gingerbread itself worked very well and they did eat it after we left, and said it tasted good! Thought I had a photo, but haven't found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Excellent!Had no issues. Used my own cookie cutters. Walls are very sturdy. Just needs to be put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States