Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Esmee Williams
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
A bit of work to prepare but so worth it. I have a cookie 'mold' that helps me make the shapes then I use a glue gun to put it together. Then the next day we decorate with candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Phaewryn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This review is for the ICING and assembly tips only, as I used a different recipe for the actual cookies (Gingerbread Men): This icing is easy to make and holds like GLUE! It's perfect, and hardens well enough to keep decorating in 2 hours (at least in my low humidity area). I'm so happy with how our first ever gingerbread house turned out that I'm submitting my pictures. I did not use any frame, I simply glued the cookies together as directed in this recipe, walls first, wait one hour til dry, then roof added, wait another hour or two, then decorate in two steps. I did make the cookies 3 days in advance, not because they needed to dry that long, just because I got busy and the house had to wait. It turned out great though! I plan to keep this icing recipe on hand for anytime I need an easy to use and very sturdy icing for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I would like to add that you can trim the pieces of gingerbread after they are cooked to ensure uniformity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe. I had a lot of fun making the gingerbread house. At first, I thought I did something wrong with the dough because it was so soft and moist, but once I started adding some flour and began working with it, the dough was great! I recommend using wax paper for the cutouts. It was easier to get the shapes I wanted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Very easy! I never made a gingerbread house from scratch and I had no problem. The dough wasn't difficult to work with at all!!! Thank you!! It made a nice Christmas for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe tastes great! But use a form for the house since the cookies are very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I've never done gingerbread before, and it turned out great -- both tasty and a wonderful building material. I made houses, cookie cutter cookies, and freeform dough shapes (the letters of my honey's name, specifically). I followed other reviewers' advice and added quite a bit of flour, and wasn't shy with kneading more flour in prior to rolling. (In fact, the more flour that ended up in the dough as I kept rolling it out, the better it turned out.) I used Royal Icing I, which was okay, and I used a "kid-sized" elf house pattern for the building plans. Didn't use cardboard backing, either. I posted a photo of my cookies and the initial stages of our very-sloppy gingerbread houses in my Cook's Photos if anybody's curious. Just remember... we've never done this before!!! Next time I might trim my cookies before gluing them together for a better fit. Or I'll cut the dough straighter in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
We thought this was a wonderful recipe. We made cutouts for windows, and spread crushed candy canes inside them prior to baking. They melt into stained glass windows. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I have made this house two years in a row (for Valentine's Day instead of Xmas) and I think it's a great recipe. One year I needed to add flour, the other year I didn't, so just plan accordingly. The icing is amazing and holds the pieces together perfectly. I make tall houses and don't need a frame. I am worried about the raw eggs however and may try another recipe next year because my young children really want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious gingerbread, though I omitted the lemon zest and juice and used mace and cinnamon in place of the allspice. I have my dough refridgerating right now, however I made a few drop cookies as testers and they were GONE in less than 2 minutes. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States