Child-Proof Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What a variety of reviews! People seem to either love it or hate it, and I went on a mission to find out what was going so wrong for some people and so right for others. Too wet? Too dry? I think it’s the MIXING method that makes a difference. If you mix this like a group of kindergartners would – dump and mix by hand, it should turn out just fine. If you are using an electric stand mixer, you might have to make some changes to get it to work. My first shot at this recipe was using a KitchenAid stand mixer, and my results were less than ideal. The dough looked nice and rolled out pretty well, but it was impossible to get the cut shapes off of the floured surface without destroying them – even repeatedly flouring the surface and re-rolling wasn’t cutting it – they just stuck down and fell apart. In an attempt to salvage the batch, I put the whole ball back into the mixer and added another 1/4 Cup of flour. Perfect! It rolled out well and cut well on a floured surface, and the cookies turned out great. Second try was by hand to see if my theory about mixing held true, and it did. The original recipe worked just fine when mixed by hand with a good old-fashioned wooden spoon. I floured the table and rolling pin heavily and repeatedly while rolling and cutting. Stick with the simpler forms like Christmas trees and snowmen, not reindeer with skinny legs – the dough is a bit fragile. Cookies are soft and puffy, like the ones you get at the bakery with the super-sweet frosting on the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I am dissappointed at the dough quality. As soon as my 5 year old tried to roll the dough it crumbled into little pieces. Then once the shapes were finally cut, as she removed them from the board they crumbled again. This is not a recipe to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
The dough was a little dry even though I was very carefull with my measurements. After adding a couple table spoons of milk it was much easier to roll out and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a fool proof recipe. I hate cut out cookies because they can be so finicky. These, however, were rather easy (although my dough was a little dry when cutting the shapes). And they tasted like the kind my kids like at the store - you know...the ones with all the frosting. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I really didn't care for this dough recipe. It wasn't sweet enough to be sugar cookies, I ended up making a lemon glaze to go over the top. Plus if you roll it out more than once, it got too crumbly. I wouldn't use this one again. It WAS easy, but not worth wasting my time on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Crisp, delicious! I rolled them out and cut into shapes, then sprinkled with sugar before baking. My kids, nieces, and nephews gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Great tasting, but is not child proof. The dough is soft and needs lots of flour to cut out the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This recipe is horrible. I wish I had read the reviews before I made it. A complete waste of time and money on my ingredients. The flavor isn't bad, but the mix was extremely DRY and the cookies are like bricks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lawton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
batter would not form a ball and I was careful in adding all the ingredients,needed to add milk to the recipe to get it to stick together, too dry tasting..will not bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
These cookies are WONDERFUL! We all loved them and they are so easy. The flavor is very good, I love the crispness of these cookies and they'd be great for icing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States