Child-Proof Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
very crumbly... the recipe failed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Delicious!! My 5 yr. old granddaughter and I made them for valentines day, everyone loved them. They were easy and very tasty. She's already saying we have to make them for Easter. We frosted them and put colored sugar on some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
We loved them. I made them with a 3yo, 4yo & 6yo & had no problem at all. I substituted microwave-softened unsalted margarine for the shortening. We also added some red food coloring to the mixture before adding the flour. The dough was like a slightly moist clay, that the kids worked with for a bit on a floured board before rolling it out. We found it worked better patting the dough with our hands to a thickness somewhere between 1/8 & 1/4 inch, rather than using our heavy rolling pin. Delicious! We're bookmarking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Well, I was a little nervous about trying these cookies, since there were so many "less than great" reviews. But, I thought I'd give it a shot, and if all else failed, I would just eat the dough! :) I did add two eggs, instead of just one, and I added a pinch of salt, which I always add when baking anything. I ended up needing about 3 cups of flour, plus the flour needed to roll out the dough balls. My 6-year-old and I made these over the past 2 hours, and I have to say, "They are awesome!" My little one did most of the rolling and cutting, and I was in charge of the oven. We did not have any decorating sprinkles, but we sprinkled sugar on the cookies before baking. These are yummy and easy little cookies, and we'll for sure make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
these cookies tasted great and i didn't even add the almond or vanilla due to being out. cooked 9 min and they were a delicate crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I've been making this recipe for years. The dough always seems to be crumply. Through trial and error, I have found that this is a recipe that you have to use your hands. You have basically kneed the dough before rolling it out, adding extra flour as needed. The dough will eventually become the right consistency to roll out. It's little pain-staking task, but I think it is so worth it. We don't like sugar cookies that are to sweet and these are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
wHAT A DISAPOINTMENT FOR MY DAUGHTER AND i WHEN IT FAILED NOT ONCE--BUT TWICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Easy to make, but I thought the dough was dry and hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These didn't really turn out well. The dough was too sticky. I follwed the directions to the T. Won't make these again.But thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The end result cookie was somewhat tasty, but the dough was very crumply and cracked alot when rolled. I followed the recipe to the letter, but ended up adding more shortening to roll it out effectively. After the 3rd rollout, I gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States