Child-Proof Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
hhmmm... read the reviews and thought i was duly prepared. :) we added almost a cup of additional flour... still, when we tried to roll these, it was a gooey mess. we tried the (adorable!) suggestion to pipe some of the dough through a garlic press as "hair" to cookie faces. it melted into the cookies as they baked and disappeared. in the end, we made these as drop cookies and they tasted great... tho i'm thinking they should be renamed to "adult-proof" instead. (smiling...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
After reading some of the reviews I really didn't want to make these but a friend of mine said that she had made them and they had a good flavor, however, the dough was dry. I heeded the advice of others and instead of scooping the flour, I spooned it into the cup and leveled it off. I did mix it all with my Kitchen Aide mixer and the dough was perfect (Soft and pliable). I really enjoyed working with this dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe did not work for me. I made these with my preschooler, paying careful attention, but the dough was very very soft and we could not roll them out. When baked, they didn't even hold the shape we cut them into and spread all over the pan. Once cool, they were hard as a rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I use this as a basic recipe and I "veganize" it as I am vegan. That means I use vegan shortening (Earth Balance brand usually) and substittions for the egg. This is a GREAT recipe to jazz up with different flavored extracts, etc. I think the reason that it gets such mixes reviews is that people use different kinds of shortening and different mixing and rolling techniques. This always works wonderfully for me and leaves everyone saying, "I can't believe this is a vegan cookie!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is the very best sugar cookie I have ever had and the family loves them too. I've been baking this recipe every Christmas for the past 6 years. It's the best. I have traded the shortening for butter once or twice, and they were good, however, everyone asked for the - real - sugar cookies. I love that they do not have to be chilled in the fridge before rolling out. The dough can be a bit on the dry side for some but if you keep working it a bit it rolls out very nicely. You can roll it out between waxed paper or parchment paper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I have used this recipe for years. My mom has it in the Betty Crocker Cooky book from the 60's. I agree that is not a very sweet cookie, they are meant to be frosted (with butter frosting, not royal icing). You also HAVE to chill the dough before rolling and cutting. If you frost and let the frosting set overnight, they are perfect! I always make them for my annual cookie exchange and get tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These taste wonderful. I did have to adjust the recipe a little. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 veg. shortening (reg. not butter flav.) and I added 1/4 cup of water. I mixed it with my kitchen-aid on high and the dough was fluffy and soft. These cookies have a wonderful light crumbly texture. I really like them and will definitely use them again. I made snowflake cut outs and used an icing that hardens with some sugar sprinkled. Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What a variety of reviews! People seem to either love it or hate it, and I went on a mission to find out what was going so wrong for some people and so right for others. Too wet? Too dry? I think it’s the MIXING method that makes a difference. If you mix this like a group of kindergartners would – dump and mix by hand, it should turn out just fine. If you are using an electric stand mixer, you might have to make some changes to get it to work. My first shot at this recipe was using a KitchenAid stand mixer, and my results were less than ideal. The dough looked nice and rolled out pretty well, but it was impossible to get the cut shapes off of the floured surface without destroying them – even repeatedly flouring the surface and re-rolling wasn’t cutting it – they just stuck down and fell apart. In an attempt to salvage the batch, I put the whole ball back into the mixer and added another 1/4 Cup of flour. Perfect! It rolled out well and cut well on a floured surface, and the cookies turned out great. Second try was by hand to see if my theory about mixing held true, and it did. The original recipe worked just fine when mixed by hand with a good old-fashioned wooden spoon. I floured the table and rolling pin heavily and repeatedly while rolling and cutting. Stick with the simpler forms like Christmas trees and snowmen, not reindeer with skinny legs – the dough is a bit fragile. Cookies are soft and puffy, like the ones you get at the bakery with the super-sweet frosting on the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I'm not sure why people had such a hard time with this recipe! I have used it millions of times.(lol..I'm exaggerating!) and NEVER EVER had a problem with it! Its the only recipe I use..and the oneI reccomend to all my freinds! I love it! My cookies always come out nice and soft..and taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i have used this recipe for three years..for my homeschool k class to the church socials..people ask always when are you going to make those cookies.. i dress them up with frosting or even make them with sugar subsitute.. just the best cookie for any holiday cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States