Chilaquiles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
We just made this for brunch with friends and everyone loved it! Easy, great, and no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Muchas gracias!!! This was a quick and delicious supper for the two of us. I scaled down the recipe, using 4 corn tortillas and 4 eggs. I topped with sour cream (VIEW MY PHOTO) and a side of refried beans. I will keep this in my recipe file. It's a great recipe for those folks who, like me, are exhausted at the end of the work day and need a quick and hot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
THIS RECIPE WAS AWSOME, I HAD FUN MAKING IT, IT WAS REALLY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My mom always made something like this when I was growing up so I was glad to find a recipe that seemed to be just like what I remembered. It was easy & tasty. I added shredded cheddar and jack cheese to the top... I also added the tomatoes after that.... I liked them cold on top of the melted cheese, personal preference. I didnt really like how the tortilla strips became soggy by the time I plated this, but there's probably no way to avoid that. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was sooo good. I had to make breakfast for 40 people,and I had never made this before, but had it in mexico and loved it. Well everyone loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was great. It was a little more elaborate than my usual scrambled eggs, but completely worth the extra steps. I cut the recipe in half and used egg whites to make it healthier. I didn't have any fresh chiles so I used a couple tablespoons of canned green chiles. To serve it I sprinkled it with some Jack cheese and a scoop of light sour cream. I added hot sauce as I ate it to up the spicyness a bit -- the fresh chiles probably would have helped with that. It was very good the way I made it and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
We thoroughly enjoyed this. Sprinkling a little cheese on top and a bowl of fresh fruit on the side makes this one terrific breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My family loves these. I've torqued the recipe depending upon what I have in my fridge. Instead of a fresh tomato, I've used a half a can of cut up tomatoes. Instead of fresh chiles, I've used a can of diced mild green chiles or diced jalapenos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe, very authentic tasting. I don't use serranos very often because others in my family think they're too hot. I also like roasted peppers with my chilaquiles, so I roast jalapenos or buy canned chipotles. I throw in a large minced clove of garlic with the onion and tomato, and add the peppers just before the egg, at which time I also add roughly chopped cilantro. Just before the eggs are finished cooking, I add some smoked mozzarella cut into cubes and this melts wonderfully and adds a nice smokey flavor which complements the peppers. If you don't judge the crispness of the tortillas right, you may burn them while sauteing the onion. You may want to remove them from the oil, dry and return them when you begin cooking the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Delicious! We used stale tortilla chips rather than frying tortillas, and added them right at the end just before the eggs were fully cooked. No cheese needed--this is tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States