Chilaquiles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe is the BOMB!! I make it when we are on the lake or at tailgates and everyone raves about it and wants to take the leftovers home! The only thing I do differently is I use Herdez salsa verde and definitely use queso fresco with some crema drizzled on top with maybe a little El Pato red tomato sauce drizzled too, but I don't always add that. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Awesome recipe. What is the hot Mexican tomato sauce used (brand name)? I just used random salsa out of a glass jar. By Herdez. You must really try the fried tortillas! If you don't want to use a deep fryer that will be fine. I just pan fried mine in a lot of oil in small batches and set them out over paper towels. Dash of salt. Also you might try cheddar, which was all I usually keep on hand for all purpose cooking and it was of course mighty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The easiest way to make chillaquiles by far, was delishious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I appreciated the recipe. I ended up doing a little tweaking of my own based on other reviews. I sprayed with butter flavored spray three whole wheat flour tortillas (that's what I had on hand)and baked them in oven until crispy. Sprayed a pan and cooked a whole chopped onion until soft and golden. Then added the eggs and the tortillas cut in strips. Next was some enchilada sauce I had left over and some salsa with it. When eggs were mostly finished, I added chopped leftover cooked chicken breasts and the shredded cheese over the top and covered to finish cooking. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Fantastic. I added two shredded chicken breasts, some garlic and used a can of enchilada sauce and a jar of Goya pico de gallo. I also just used some trader joes tortilla chips. They are thick and substantial. Topped with Mexi cheese blend and cojita. I think I will cook the eggs separately and add at the end so they don't break up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I use 2 corn tortillas per egg and medium chunky salsa for the hot tomatoe sauce. Really good! Even the picky 13 yo loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very easy and very good. Tweak the spiciness to taste. I usually use 2 jalapenos and don't take out the seeds. Also I think monterey jack works best for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I would never never never make this dish ever again.. its a dissappoiment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiecanbake
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
After having a Mexican student make this for the class, I had to find out how to make it. This recipe was closest to how she said her mom made it. It was good, but I even cut down on the tortillas to 10, and it was too many. I used El Pato for the sauce because the student said that was what her mom uses. I also think next time I might try tortilla chips instead of the regular tortillas because I want more crunch. Still tasty, and helps me to try to replicate the yummy food my student brought in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this for breakfast today! So glad I did. Made with all ingredients (use El Pato) except with a slightly time saving step. Used 1 Tbs butter and fried up the onion. Dumped in 5 handfuls of tortilla chips mixed them around and proceeded with recipe. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States