Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband will not eat a bought Angel Food Cake so a few weeks ago I made one from scratch which he enjoyed..he said he would still like to have a Chiffon Cake..I have had this recipe on hand for quite some time and decided to try it..the only change I made was to spin the sugar in a processor for about 2 minutes until it was superfine..the cake came out super high, was light and moist..better than any you would buy in a store.. I did not use any frosting as my husband prefers this kind of cake plain..what it would be good for is to use as a basis for a strawberry shortcake..Thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoori
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I used this to make Korean fresh cream cake, and it turned out delicious! The cake was fluffy, soft, moist, and NOT EGG-Y!!! I have a major sweet tooth, so I actually added 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar and left out the lemon extract. I'm going to recommend this recipe to everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
The family loved this recipe! On a warm summer evening after a heavy meal, this cake was perfect for my daughter's 36th birthday. Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Great recipe, nice touch to a meal, light and moist. Makes a good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My friends love this cake. It's easy for me to bake as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by azzilann
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
UNBELIEVABLY light & fluffy!!!...otherwise you did something wrong. The result of your egg whites determine how light & fluffy it is, so make sure you beat your egg whites until it's well risen before you add cream of tartar. AWESOME recipe, it didn't smell or taste eggy either. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I needed a chiffon recipe to make petit fors, and this cake was PERFECT! it was light, elegant and tasty! thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
the best chiddon cake recipe ever!!! i don't think i'll look for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
excellent cake!! I made a lamington inspired cake by cutting it in half and spreading jam and whipped cream inside, and then I made a chocolate icing and topped with toasted coconut. Yum!!! So light and fluffy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I am a newbie when it comes to cooking, but that doesn't stop my enthusiasm! My first attempt at making this was FIRST CAKE FAIL. It was egg-y, dense, and rather lopsided. The second time I made this was a success! Light, fluffy, and delicious! Some tips for first-timers (of making any cake whatsoever): 1)When separating the eggs, be sure that there are no traces of yolk. Yolk may hinder the fluffiness of the whites. Also, when beating the whites, the highest speed to be used should be medium. 2) Mixing the yolk mixture first may be more beneficial if you tend to be a slow mixer. If the stiffened egg whites sit too long, they begin to "melt" or "re-liquify". 3)When folding the two mixtures together, be sure there are no lumps or streaks. This may sound obvious, but for newbies like me this is important to know. 4) Last but not least, if you're baking in two round pans rather than a big tube pan, watch the cakes carefully as they cook. They are guaranteed to burn or fail if they're in the oven for 55 minutes. I timed the cakes for 20 minutes and checked every ten minutes after that. I think it was a total of 40 minutes to create perfection. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States