Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
the cake turn out sweet n tasty... it was spongy n nice to frost with... I tried with fruit puree as a flavoring though and skipped d lemon extract and butter frosting. I tried with whipped cream icing and added strawberries and almond slivers it was a hit and sis n law loved it... a keeper... thanks for d recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kookaymom03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a very light and tender cake--it tastes just like the cakes you get at Chinese bakeries. I think you could also use almond extract instead of the vanilla or lemon and it would turn out great. I frosted the cake with sweetened whipped cream (powdered sugar and vanilla added). Try decorating with drained, paper towel blotted mandarin oranges or other fruits. Very important to blot the fruits otherwise their juice will streak on the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Simply great. Not too sweet and not heavy at all. I will try substituting other flavors for the lemon flavoring next time to try other effects. Also good with a touch of Captain Morgan Private Stock sprinkled over each piece and allowed to sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious! Served this with whipped cream and strawberries; the cake actually melts in your mouth faster than the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent and a very professional cake recipe, never failed, very versatile, because i`ve done many times and it`s great with chocolate, cream, english cream, , icing, heavy mousse, candy fruit like coconut with pineapple filled, anyway..thanks for share your recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
It sounds too good and tempting to try.. WHAT CN I USE IF I DONT HAVE CAKE FLOUR i just have all purpose flour PLEASE HELP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This cake is a real winner! When I bake it for wedding cakes/birthdays there never seem to be enuf! This recipe is on the top of my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I am a newbie when it comes to cooking, but that doesn't stop my enthusiasm! My first attempt at making this was FIRST CAKE FAIL. It was egg-y, dense, and rather lopsided. The second time I made this was a success! Light, fluffy, and delicious! Some tips for first-timers (of making any cake whatsoever): 1)When separating the eggs, be sure that there are no traces of yolk. Yolk may hinder the fluffiness of the whites. Also, when beating the whites, the highest speed to be used should be medium. 2) Mixing the yolk mixture first may be more beneficial if you tend to be a slow mixer. If the stiffened egg whites sit too long, they begin to "melt" or "re-liquify". 3)When folding the two mixtures together, be sure there are no lumps or streaks. This may sound obvious, but for newbies like me this is important to know. 4) Last but not least, if you're baking in two round pans rather than a big tube pan, watch the cakes carefully as they cook. They are guaranteed to burn or fail if they're in the oven for 55 minutes. I timed the cakes for 20 minutes and checked every ten minutes after that. I think it was a total of 40 minutes to create perfection. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoori
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I used this to make Korean fresh cream cake, and it turned out delicious! The cake was fluffy, soft, moist, and NOT EGG-Y!!! I have a major sweet tooth, so I actually added 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar and left out the lemon extract. I'm going to recommend this recipe to everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
excellent cake!! I made a lamington inspired cake by cutting it in half and spreading jam and whipped cream inside, and then I made a chocolate icing and topped with toasted coconut. Yum!!! So light and fluffy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States