Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have never written a review before for anything but after making this cake I felt compelled to do so. This was absolutely the most delicious cake I have ever made! I bake quite a bit and have made many types of cakes before and this one is by far my favorite! It was so light and fluffy with the perfect amount of sweetness to it. I am not one for eating super sugary desserts often because it makes my stomach feel heavy and afterward I feel just sloth like. But this made my stomach feel full and light. Kind of like the way Japanese or Korean food makes me feel after I eat it. The consistancy is like a pancake and a super light cupcake mixed into one. I used espresso instead of water and I substituted the lemon for rum. I also used an espresso chocolate mousse instead of the frosting. It was to die for. The cake didn't last two days. I even put it in the freezer over night because the mousse started to melt and with the frozen mousse, that taseted like chocolate ice cream in the morning, and the cake, that was amazing cold, OMG! Crazy good! This recipe will be with me for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I used 2x 9" round pans lined with round cut-out parchment papers and baked at 325 the whole way for 40 minutes. It came out quite done already, so i'd bake it for 35 minutes next time and test it earlier with a toothpick and add time if needed. I made a 4 tiered strawberry chiffon cake using instant lemon pudding, 1 LB pound strawberries (sliced and mixed with 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp lemon juice-mix and let sit 1 hr for juicy strawberries) and fresh whipped cream. Lightly lemony and very juicy strawberries made this cake delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I thought this was going to be really difficult but my KitchenAid made it a breeze. Super light, sweet and delicious. I made it in two 8-inch rounds for a layer cake and baked it 40 mins. Could've used another 5-10 I think, but it's hard to tell when it's "done" without being overdone. Next time I know - this will be my go-to birthday cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andikuhn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Ng
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good sponge cake recipe to use for birthday cakes. So soft and fluffy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe. I tried it for the first time yesterday and it came out perfect. It's light and fluffy and tastes delicious, not too sweet. I've been searching for a really good vanilla chiffon cake and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
It was soooo light and fluffy! It also tasted great without lemon extract and I used all purpose flour. I halved the batter into an 8-inch baking pan in two rounds for about 40 minutes as skang said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
easy to follow. But in response to another's review, the cream of tartar must be added to the egg whites BEFORE beating them. It stabilizes the egg whites and helps them stay fluffy. I used almond extract instead of lemon, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I have been making a different chiffon cake for years with less than desirable results; on my first attempt this cake turned out gorgeous! My new, favourite cake recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
pretty good but the thick and overwhelmingly sweet buttercream icing will overwhelm the light, subtly sweet flavor of chiffon. Instead, try using stabilized whipped cream without an overwhelming amount of whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keeniereenie
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. It's soft, moist, light, and not to sweet. A superb cake that goes perfectly with a light whipped topping. Friends helped themselves to seconds. Also makes for good cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States