Chickpeas in Tomato Sauce With Feta and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Wonderful, delicious, I could eat this dish a few times a week. Always a hit in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
A very good starting point for a vegetarian meal. A few modifications: I used only half of an onion chopped, and cooked it with 1/2 cup of fresh sliced onions for about 10 minutes before adding the garlic, a pinch of red pepper flakes, and just 1 tsp of oregano (because that's all there was left). I'm glad I didn't add a full tbsp, because it may have been overpowering. I simmered the tomatoes and wine as directed, then added just the chickpeas to let simmer for another 10-15 minutes to really get the flavours blended. Based on other reviews, I just sprinkled the feta on the dish at the end to keep it looking as good as it did while it simmered! Served it with brown rice cooked in vegetable broth to get a full protein. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
So great!!! We did not miss the meat in any way with this recipe. I can't wait to eat the leftovers! I used 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and broth instead of wine and it was so fantastic. I'll bet it's even more fantastic with wine!!! Thank you, thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The flavor of this recipe was great. I added chopped up pieces of kale to give it even more of a nutritional boost. The kale tasted delcious sauteed with the melted feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Inexpensive, and so delicious! We did a whole cup of Feta, but I'm guessing that there is a difference between a packed 3/4c and loose 1c. We also sauteed some shrimp first, to boost the protein for my pregnant vegetarian wife! I served it on a simple lemon rice pilaf(regular rice with some juice and zest, onions, a little thyme). Amazing! One of the best on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This dish lacks color and flavor. I would suggest using some frozen corn for color & flavor as well as well as extra spices. I would also suggest more feta cheese as well as perhaps some red pepper. I served this with whole wheat spaghettini and topped with grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very yummy. Went great with grilled tuna. Wouldn't change a thing at all. Make sure you slowly cook the onions/garlic/oregano. It is definately a sweat, not a saute or you'll burn the oregano. Thanks much, this will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I used 2 fresh tomatoes, some extra garlic and put it over brown rice. DELICIOUS. One of the best finds on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Really easy and very tasty! I used a Riesling and it had a really nice flavor. I also added some cubes of tofu for extra protein. Also, the tomatoes I used had garlic and oregano already in them, and I added some rosemary to it. I didn't have any onion and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
We like vegetarian dishes and this one is very good. And quick and easy to fix. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States