Chickpeas in Tomato Sauce With Feta and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This recipe was very easy and quite good. I used red wine instead of white because that's what I had. And I supplemented the feta with a bit of blue cheese, because I didn't have quite enough feta. And it was all delicious! I think this dish would also be very good if you mashed the chickpeas slightly and used it as a filling for pita sandwiches (maybe with fresh sliced tomatoes, cucumber and ???)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was cheap and easy to make. We served it on pita bread with a side salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
As per my previous posting I'm back to tell you this freezes very well. I froze it in portions (for work) w/ (cannned, rinsed, drained) chickpeas that had been sauteed w/ olive oil, onion & garlic, & with brown rice portions (cooked in orange juice). As always, I let all components come to room temp, then chilled overnight in the fridge b/f freezing. When I re-heated at work the meal was only partially thawed but still turned out well. Of course if frozen/only part-thawed, microwave at Low for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Love this recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. I served if over lemon rice and it was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Wow, this is delicious! I followed the recipe except for not draining the tomatoes, then poured the whole lot over some chicken breasts and baked them for about 1/2 hour - really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe! I followed the suggestions of others and 1)didn't drain the tomatoes 2)added a little extra garlic, plus some basil and rosemary 3)added the feta cheese upon serving the dish, rather than cooking it for 5 minutes 4) added spinach and mushrooms and 5) squeezed fresh lemon juice over the dish just before serving. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very yummy. Went great with grilled tuna. Wouldn't change a thing at all. Make sure you slowly cook the onions/garlic/oregano. It is definately a sweat, not a saute or you'll burn the oregano. Thanks much, this will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was looking for a new chickpea recipe, and I really enjoyed this. It was good on basmati rice, but also really good on a soft baguette, and also to dip my pita chips in. A good excuse to enjoy a glass of wine. Easy and creative! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was really good with a little cinnamon and basil added. I did not drain the tomatoes, and took the suggestion of one reviewer to add the feta just before serving for a more attractive dish. I think it would also be good with the addition of some currants or raisins to balance the flavors, but it is delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This recipe has become a weekly favorite in my family. I usually change almost every recipe I make but not this one! The only thing that's not specified is the kind of feta used. I use good quality sheep's milk feta because it's much tastier than cow's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States