Chickpea and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I was looking for a low-fat, quick and tasty soup and this fit the bill. I only used 1 t of olive oil and substituted 2 cans of chicken broth for the bullion. I think the fresh rosemary is what really makes this soup. 5 stars for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I subbed fresh dill for the rosemary. This was quite good. I also simmered for quite awhile to soften everything up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Had no money to go shopping so I used what I had. Added onion, canned chicken, pasta, corn, canned sauce, cumin and used dried Rosemary instead of fresh. Oh yeah, used beef instead of chicken bouillon. It's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was really surprised at how good this very basic and quick recipe is. The only changes I made were to use 2 cloves of garlic, cut back to 2 cups of water, blended the entire pot, and then added a bit of milk at the end. A nice thick mild tomato soup! My 3-yr old ate 3 bowls and that is proof enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So it is the new year and I gained too much weight over the holidays. Found this healthy, low cal soup and decided to give it a try. I loved it! Great taste for something so easy. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. Also threw in a little orzo. Even with the orzo, it was still very low cal. A great start to a new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Definitely a base soup. I made it for myself, and then made it for a party. I added kidney beans, white beans, brown sugar (the tomatoes were a little bitter to me), and vegetarian stock instead of the water. I left the party with an empty pot. I suggest making the soup your own, its one of those kitchen sink recipes where you can add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Bismillahir Rahman ir Rahim This was pretty good. I reduced the water to half and served over rice. Next time I would throw in some cumin, but this definitely was super-quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This soup taste great but I like a heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The soup was great but i decided to tweek it a little. I first sauted the oil, garlic, tomatoes,and chickpeas in a non-stick frying pan for 20 minutes to reduce the juices from the tomatoes. I then placed the tomatoes and chickpeas in the sauce pot and added the remaining ingredients. Finnally I added a little shredded roast chicken and i was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Love this soup. I changed it a little. I pureed the tomatoes and chick peas. Instead of rosemary, I added a little ground cloves and ground red pepper. I added flax seed meal to the cup of soup just before eating to make it thicker (and to add fiber).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States