Chickpea and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Ad written, this soup is edible but BORING!!! But, it is a FABULOUS base recipe... so much potential in this soup! I like to use chicken stock (or chicken broth) instead of water, add shredded/roasted chicken or even kielbasa, add different beans, some more seasonings (especially garlic.) And, I do cook this in the crock on low (stirring occasionally) for at least 6-8 hrs to get a full blending of flavors. Worth 'playing' with this recipe to get the flavors you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was really surprised at how good this very basic and quick recipe is. The only changes I made were to use 2 cloves of garlic, cut back to 2 cups of water, blended the entire pot, and then added a bit of milk at the end. A nice thick mild tomato soup! My 3-yr old ate 3 bowls and that is proof enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Love this soup. I changed it a little. I pureed the tomatoes and chick peas. Instead of rosemary, I added a little ground cloves and ground red pepper. I added flax seed meal to the cup of soup just before eating to make it thicker (and to add fiber).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very bland. I had to use 3 bouillon cubes instead of 3 to give it any flavor. Otherwise it was just like beans and tomatoes floating around in water. I will make it again, but with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Had no money to go shopping so I used what I had. Added onion, canned chicken, pasta, corn, canned sauce, cumin and used dried Rosemary instead of fresh. Oh yeah, used beef instead of chicken bouillon. It's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So it is the new year and I gained too much weight over the holidays. Found this healthy, low cal soup and decided to give it a try. I loved it! Great taste for something so easy. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. Also threw in a little orzo. Even with the orzo, it was still very low cal. A great start to a new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I subbed fresh dill for the rosemary. This was quite good. I also simmered for quite awhile to soften everything up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The soup was great but i decided to tweek it a little. I first sauted the oil, garlic, tomatoes,and chickpeas in a non-stick frying pan for 20 minutes to reduce the juices from the tomatoes. I then placed the tomatoes and chickpeas in the sauce pot and added the remaining ingredients. Finnally I added a little shredded roast chicken and i was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Definitely a base soup. I made it for myself, and then made it for a party. I added kidney beans, white beans, brown sugar (the tomatoes were a little bitter to me), and vegetarian stock instead of the water. I left the party with an empty pot. I suggest making the soup your own, its one of those kitchen sink recipes where you can add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This soup taste great but I like a heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States