Chickpea and Pasta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A good, simple soup. Next time I'll reduce the garlic-personal taste. I omitted the rosemary, added a little celery and carrot to the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Just made this for lunch. Fantastic! I added some chipotle powder because I like a little heat, but other than that I left it as is and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredosia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Pretty good! The only thing I changed was to add about a 1/2 tablespoon of vinegar. It lacked acidity for me. Taste it before you add the vinegar, since it may be due to the brand of tomatoes I used. Also, if you use dried rosemary (which I did) let it simmer a little longer so the flavor can develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I make this recipe with a couple of twists and its one of our favorites. Smash the garlic and peel before cooking. Cook garlic for only a minute. Only use fresh rosemary - 3 or 4 large sprigs. 1-14oz can tomatoes 2-14oz cans BEEF broth + a bit of beef base for extra flavor. 2-19oz cans chickpeas,drained and rinsed. 6oz uncooked elbow mac or cavatappi (small round macaroni) 1/3 cup grated pecorino romano cheese Add 2 cups water with the beef broth. Mash one can of chickpeas with a fork or potato masher to add at the time you add the macaroni to cook. Add the other can of whole chickpeas at the last minute. Garnish with all the cheese to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Easy to make, economical, and has a great taste! Just be warned- if you have dry rosemary instead of fresh, don't put two tablespoons of it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I tailored the original recipe: saute 2 cloves garlic (or more), one thinly sliced carrot, and three chopped chicken thighs in olive oil; add two cups crushed tomatoes and simmer 15 minutes; add two cups chicken broth, one can rinsed chickpeas, and a handful of chopped cilantro and simmer another 20 minutes. An inexpensive one pot meal my husband enjoyed. Try it with a side of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I loved this - but unfortunately mine turned out more like a pasta dish than a soup- maybe I'll add more tomatoes and juice next time. Other than that- this was perfect and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I love garlic, but I thought that it was too overpowering in this soup and I didn't like the chickpeas and pasta together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezCristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Simple. I was looking for something quick and easy to make with the things I had on hand. I had some heavy cream that I needed to use too, so I added some of that during the last step of prep. I also didn't have any rosemary on hand, but did have basil leaves so I used two of those instead and removed them before eating. Yummy! I will make this again for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is absolutely fabulous! I didn't have any crushed tomatoes, so I used my favorite pasta sauce instaed and it turned out GREAT! Thanks for such a wonderful and yummy recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States