Chickpea and Couscous Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I found this recipe delicious but I did tweak quite a bit so I can't give the full five stars. Instead of water, I used vegetable broth and what a flavorful difference. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white, and garlic infused olive oil, and again, a great flavor boost. I also used a red onion. It tasted fabulous! I think this recipe lends itself to many different variations and tastes - it's very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is a very simple and healthy recipe. The only problem I found was that it is a little bland, so I added red peppers and substituted balsamic vinegar for white. I love the mixture of beans, veggies and couscous though! an awesome combination of textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nice simple recipe. Glad I read the other reviews which inspired me to make some changes of my own. Used lime, balsamic and fresh herbs and made double the amount of dressing. Also added celery, bell pepper and blanched asparagus. Best prepared the day before to enhance the flavours. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Wonderfully easy and tasty! I peppered this nicely, and didn't add any extra salt. Next time I'll try lemon juice instead of vinegar for more flavour. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was pretty tasty but I think it should be 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup white vinegar instead of teaspoon. Otherwise it's way too dry and has no flavor to speak of. A little fresh mint might be nice in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a nice and simple recipe. I added a bit more olive oil and vinegar for more of a punch. I also added sliced red onions to bulk up the veggies. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was my first time using couscous and this recipe fit my taste buds! I did change a few things - I used lemon juice instead of vinegar (as others suggested), diced canned tomatoes (with juice) and I added some tarragon to the dressing. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
While the recipe was OK and probably a good picnic food, there just wasn't enough flavor for our liking. I made it 2 times, the first time with chicken broth, the second without. Definately use the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelRN
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wonderful recipe, I did alter it to what I had in my pantry. I used fresh baby spinach, petite diced tomatoes, fresh pesto (I made it the night before), and balsamic vinegar. I must say it taste delish! This is the first time I make couscous and I will definately try it again! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This dish is a great basic dish. The key is using the spices to taste as it is bland. As others suggested, I did add balsamic vinegar instead of white, and I added a little more because I liked the flavor. Just a note: If it is easier, just use a box a couscous and cook according to package directions. There are many flavors and you can find it in the rice aisle. Then just use a portion of it for this dish or increase the ingredients accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States