Chickpea and Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It's a decent base. I like chickpeas, and I like chicken. I don't recommend the lemon juice. Maybe just a little bit to brighten it up, but definitely not a tablespoon. I also think it might have been oversalted. Between the lemon juice and the salt it was very, very pungent. Maybe try 1/2 t salt and a tiny splash of lemon juice? The ketchup freaked me out, so I didn't use it. After tasting it I think the ketchup might have been there to sweeten it a little. I kept feeling like it needed some sweetness. I modified it according to the other reviews: a little cayenne. I increased the cinnamon and cloves and added yogurt. Way less lemon juice, if any, and half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My kids liked it but I found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I would definitely add some sugar (1 tbsp) to help bring out the flavor. I also added some ginger (1 tsp) and ground red pepper for spice. Add the spices while cooking the chicken and onion in order to bring out the flavor. I used chicken broth and water (3/4 and 1/4 cup respectively). I also used the entire can of tomato paste. This recipe is good but I found the chick peas unnecessary as they did not really add anything to the dish. I would probably use regular peas instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used 2 chicken breasts, garam masala and extra curry, and served over jasmine rice. Like others have said, it is more tomato-ey than curry. I saved it, but will probably keep looking for a curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This tasted just like I wanted it to. I'd also like to try it with fried tofu in place of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
this curry was ok but extremely flavorless. i had to double the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING! I just made it for dinner and it was a hit. I read other reviews and omitted the lemon juice because I couldn't see how its addition would enhance this rich and tasty dish. I might have been a little heavy handed with the spices because I think the curry (I used sweet curry) the clove and the cinnamon combined are crazy tasty. The garbanzo beans add texture and wonderful flavor. The chicken absorbs all the flavors. I can't say enough how well this dish came together. I served it over jasmine rice. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed the mix of flavors and how easy it was to make. I made it exactly according to the recipe and served it with brown rice. Too bad my boyfriend didn't approve. Oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Too sweet for my taste and really not like the Indian curries I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I followed it as directed, besides adding some carrots that I needed to use up badly. It had a very nice sweet and mild curry flavor, which is perfect for my 3 and 1 year old children. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States