Chickpea and Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I used a combo of dried minced onion and onion powder, because I didn't have an onion. I also wanted heat, so I stirred in some siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joie Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I doubled the ingredients and it turned out awesome :) The sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Just made this and, as written, the tomato flavor is overpowering while dulling what could be a subtler flavor profile. I'm not serving for a few hours so when I reheat, perhaps some of the flavor will have expanded and from there it's likely I'll do as many others have said in their reviews — add other Indian spices, throw in some carrots and perhaps some green peas for color and taste, and then whisk a yogurt garnish on for creaminess and width. Definitely leave out the ketchup if you're doing the paste, and perhaps add honey — the tomato and lemon are already acidic, which is why there's some bad after taste since it's not really balanced out by anything. I don't think honey or brown sugar will necessarily make it "sweet" or sweeter;" rather I think it will give dimension to the flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Curren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The recipe, if cooked as directed is very bland. I tasted the sauce through out cooking to make sure it was the right consistency and was underwhelmed. When I realized this, I added about a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper and an additional teaspoon of curry powder. I then added about a half cup of light cream after the 10 minute simmer and brought it back to a boil stirring constantly until it thickened a bit. I found it to be much better this way. Not quite curry, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I read all the reviews on this one before tackling it -- I wasn't too skeptical about the ketchup since I've tried a curried chickpea recipe before that called for it, and even ended up doubling the ketchup. I sauteed the onions first until they were dark, to keep from burning/toughening the chicken in the process. I omitted the lemon juice since I didn't have any on hand, and I swapped out the tomato paste for tomato sauce and a lesser quantity of water. Like some other reviewers, I just used garam masala (though I kept to the 1 tbsp) and omitted the other spices, except for a sprinkling of black pepper. It came out with a heat level acceptable to the more heat sensitive members of my household. I used one and a half chicken breasts to make sure it would be enough, but we had a little left over. I served it over basmati rice as I typically do when serving curry. It was definitely not on par with what I'd get at a good Indian restaurant, but for a from-scratch recipe it was a lot better than 75% of jarred sauces I've tried. I'll definitely be trying again - next time I'd like to add yogurt, and maybe try it with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Melton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It's a decent base. I like chickpeas, and I like chicken. I don't recommend the lemon juice. Maybe just a little bit to brighten it up, but definitely not a tablespoon. I also think it might have been oversalted. Between the lemon juice and the salt it was very, very pungent. Maybe try 1/2 t salt and a tiny splash of lemon juice? The ketchup freaked me out, so I didn't use it. After tasting it I think the ketchup might have been there to sweeten it a little. I kept feeling like it needed some sweetness. I modified it according to the other reviews: a little cayenne. I increased the cinnamon and cloves and added yogurt. Way less lemon juice, if any, and half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My kids liked it but I found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I would definitely add some sugar (1 tbsp) to help bring out the flavor. I also added some ginger (1 tsp) and ground red pepper for spice. Add the spices while cooking the chicken and onion in order to bring out the flavor. I used chicken broth and water (3/4 and 1/4 cup respectively). I also used the entire can of tomato paste. This recipe is good but I found the chick peas unnecessary as they did not really add anything to the dish. I would probably use regular peas instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used 2 chicken breasts, garam masala and extra curry, and served over jasmine rice. Like others have said, it is more tomato-ey than curry. I saved it, but will probably keep looking for a curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This tasted just like I wanted it to. I'd also like to try it with fried tofu in place of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States