Chickpea and Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It's a decent base. I like chickpeas, and I like chicken. I don't recommend the lemon juice. Maybe just a little bit to brighten it up, but definitely not a tablespoon. I also think it might have been oversalted. Between the lemon juice and the salt it was very, very pungent. Maybe try 1/2 t salt and a tiny splash of lemon juice? The ketchup freaked me out, so I didn't use it. After tasting it I think the ketchup might have been there to sweeten it a little. I kept feeling like it needed some sweetness. I modified it according to the other reviews: a little cayenne. I increased the cinnamon and cloves and added yogurt. Way less lemon juice, if any, and half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My kids liked it but I found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I would definitely add some sugar (1 tbsp) to help bring out the flavor. I also added some ginger (1 tsp) and ground red pepper for spice. Add the spices while cooking the chicken and onion in order to bring out the flavor. I used chicken broth and water (3/4 and 1/4 cup respectively). I also used the entire can of tomato paste. This recipe is good but I found the chick peas unnecessary as they did not really add anything to the dish. I would probably use regular peas instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used 2 chicken breasts, garam masala and extra curry, and served over jasmine rice. Like others have said, it is more tomato-ey than curry. I saved it, but will probably keep looking for a curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This tasted just like I wanted it to. I'd also like to try it with fried tofu in place of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
this curry was ok but extremely flavorless. i had to double the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING! I just made it for dinner and it was a hit. I read other reviews and omitted the lemon juice because I couldn't see how its addition would enhance this rich and tasty dish. I might have been a little heavy handed with the spices because I think the curry (I used sweet curry) the clove and the cinnamon combined are crazy tasty. The garbanzo beans add texture and wonderful flavor. The chicken absorbs all the flavors. I can't say enough how well this dish came together. I served it over jasmine rice. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed the mix of flavors and how easy it was to make. I made it exactly according to the recipe and served it with brown rice. Too bad my boyfriend didn't approve. Oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Too sweet for my taste and really not like the Indian curries I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I followed it as directed, besides adding some carrots that I needed to use up badly. It had a very nice sweet and mild curry flavor, which is perfect for my 3 and 1 year old children. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States