Chickpea and Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I had to tweak this recipe before I even started cooking it but it was a good base recipe. I used garam masala (cardamom, cloves, cinamon, cumin seeds, corriander seeds toasted and ground) extra curry, more black pepper and chopped cilantro in the pan, not only for garnish. I chopped up a few fresh very hot cayenne peppers too. (Too many to use up this summer!!) I used 1/3 can of diced tomatoes and a few small fresh plum tomatoes to get a nice sauce rather than only ketchup (I omitted) and water. At the end I stirred in about 1/3c low fat plain yogurt. I served with jasmine rice. Delish. No way would the recipe as written have enough spice and flavor. I noticed a lot of recipes on here are very base and simple and someone who knows there way around the kitchen can really jack them up to awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I did not have curry powder so I substituted a mixture of cumin, basil, corriander and a smidge of ginger. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this as directed, except I used 2 chicken breasts instead of 1. This was an excellent dish. It was easy, had a good flavor, and is low in fat. Next time I may use some cayenne pepper to add some heat, but it was still very good without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My husband made this dish and it was overall pretty good and easy to make. We did feel that the ketchup or the lemon juice gave it a funky after taste or flavor. We really can't pin it down what it was that caused the flavor to be off for us. We did add more chicken than the recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The taste itself if fine except that it isn't exactly curry... I should have known when the ingredients called for tomato paste... but alas... I was so hoping that it would somehow taste like curry. It taste like a Morrocan stew. Still good and easy to make, just don't expect it to taste like curry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Of course, I made a few tweaks to this recipe but we really enjoyed it. I added diced carrots to the minced onion, and made my own bbq sauce with tomato puree, molasses, etc. I also added garam marsala to the dish after it finished simmering on the stove. You could serve this over rice or couscous, but I prefered to just eat it as is. Filling, healthy, flavorful. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Claudia. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Liked the idea of this, but it was a little boring, so doubled or tripled the garlic, made my own spicy curry powder, dumped in other random curry-type spices such as more cinnamon, ginger, cumin, allspice and coriander. Also added a healthy dose of chopped up habanero, as we do serious spice in our house. The extra water is definitely needed to give it a good stewey sauce for the rice and I even added a can of diced tomatoes, although I think that ended up making it too tomatoey and not enough curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was not bad but honestly not that exciting. Definitlely not a "wow" dish, it was just o.k. I felt that the cinnamon was a little overpowering. If I ever make this again, I will cut the cinnamon in half. I also added large junks of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Too sweet for my taste and really not like the Indian curries I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
im a health nut and this was awesome lots of flavor and very filling adding to my list of number meals to make and impress my friends made with 2 chicken breast as well and doubled the ingrediants used canned tomato sauce (all i had lol) was still super awesome thanks keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamailt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States