Chickpea and Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I had to tweak this recipe before I even started cooking it but it was a good base recipe. I used garam masala (cardamom, cloves, cinamon, cumin seeds, corriander seeds toasted and ground) extra curry, more black pepper and chopped cilantro in the pan, not only for garnish. I chopped up a few fresh very hot cayenne peppers too. (Too many to use up this summer!!) I used 1/3 can of diced tomatoes and a few small fresh plum tomatoes to get a nice sauce rather than only ketchup (I omitted) and water. At the end I stirred in about 1/3c low fat plain yogurt. I served with jasmine rice. Delish. No way would the recipe as written have enough spice and flavor. I noticed a lot of recipes on here are very base and simple and someone who knows there way around the kitchen can really jack them up to awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
im a health nut and this was awesome lots of flavor and very filling adding to my list of number meals to make and impress my friends made with 2 chicken breast as well and doubled the ingrediants used canned tomato sauce (all i had lol) was still super awesome thanks keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamailt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very unique recipe we thoroughly enjoyed it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Super yummy and super easy! I made with 2 chicken breasts and it was perfectly filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really good, really easy, healthy. I've made it 2x, w/brown rice. Nice easy dinner, something different then the casseroles, etc that I tend to make during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I loved this dish! I had never made any sort of curry before but this turned out great. I did everything as directed except added a bit more of olive oil and a little bit more water to prevent it from getting dry. It did take much longer than five minutes to cook the chicken and onions, once I got those done it went really fast. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The taste itself if fine except that it isn't exactly curry... I should have known when the ingredients called for tomato paste... but alas... I was so hoping that it would somehow taste like curry. It taste like a Morrocan stew. Still good and easy to make, just don't expect it to taste like curry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was great! delicious and good for you. served with brown rice to bulk up the fiber. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIWIK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this as directed, except I used 2 chicken breasts instead of 1. This was an excellent dish. It was easy, had a good flavor, and is low in fat. Next time I may use some cayenne pepper to add some heat, but it was still very good without that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Of course, I made a few tweaks to this recipe but we really enjoyed it. I added diced carrots to the minced onion, and made my own bbq sauce with tomato puree, molasses, etc. I also added garam marsala to the dish after it finished simmering on the stove. You could serve this over rice or couscous, but I prefered to just eat it as is. Filling, healthy, flavorful. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Claudia. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States