Chickpea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nancypants
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Nice easy flavorful soup with ingredients I usually have on hand. I added chopped rotisserie chicken, can of diced petite tomatoes, and splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I used beef broth because that's what I had and frozen peas and corn. Also a can of tomatoes that I chopped up with an immersion blender. Plus I added a teaspoon of brown sugar as well as a shot of balsamic vinegar to give the soup some bite. It turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent food for kids. I have a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old who, of course, don't at their veggies. I always look for recipes that they can eat and be clueless about veggies. I just made this for the first time and they both finished their servings with the 3 yr old asking for more, which rarely happens with non-chocolate items. What I did differently: I ballparked the quantities: 2 cloves of garlic, half an onion, one smallish sweet potato. I didn't have broth so I simply used water, salt and pepper to taste. I also didn't have the recommended herbs and used all seasoning and Italian seasoning instead. Then I added already steamed veggies (carrots, peas, corn and green beans), and 1/2 cup rice. It's possibly a different soup than what the recipes says. but it turned out delish. Most importantly, it's loaded with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Have you tried this recipe? What did you think? I just loved it. Easy, tasty and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used beef broth instead and loved it!! My husband said it was hardy and to make it again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
There was something a little funky about it. I very much liked the sweet potato, corn and garbanzo combination... but the tomatoes and green beans and peas were off. If I make it again, I'll leave those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I chose this recipe because I had 2 big sweet potatoes with no idea what to do with them. I used canned (rinsed) chick peas a can of mixed veggies (rinsed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Yum! I made this as is and it was good. I used homeade broth - you probably need a good quality broth for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Let me start off with I mainly used this recipe as a base, and I left some things out that I didn't have and added things I did. I used about 4 small cloves of garlic. I didn't have bay leaf or paprika but I did use fresh thyme and I also added rosemary and about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I didn't have onions or sweet potatoes so I added one carrot chopped. Instead of a fresh tomato I used a can of organic diced tomatoes seasoned with garlic, basil and oregano. I also used 4c of vegetable broth and about 1/2c of water. The flavor was wonderful and next time I will make sure I have sweet potatoes and onion because I think that will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States