Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I picked this recipe because I wanted something easy for some chic peas that I cooked the day before. I agree, I would never use this much vinegar. I sprinkled with extra virgin Olive oil and about 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. I prefer the mild taste. I added some pepper, a little oregano and garlic powder, a little Italian twist never hurt anyone. WaLa...My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is a great base for an easy, healthy salad. As with other reviewers, I feel that the amount of vinegar indicated is far too much. (And I LOVE vinegar!) I went with 1/3 cup each balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar, and even that was too strong. I'll definitely make this recipe again, but will add other items as I have them (red or green peppers, additional spices, etc.) and will reduce the amount of vinegar significantly. I recommend using red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I thought this recipe called for too much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Too much vinegar and balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good, I would mix the vinegar separate from the rest so you can add what you think is enough. I just did 1/4 cup of each, and didn't even put the whole amount on there...it was plenty. I also added some celery. It is a nice refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
way way way too much vinegar. I would cut down vinegar to a few tablespoons and add olive oil if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYOHAZARD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is really good--even my 2 yr old was begging for my bites! I agree that as written there would be WAY too much vinegar. I took the advice of another to use equal parts red wine vinegar and balsamic totaling 1/4 c which was still more than sufficient. Next time I'll try adding some feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe with these changes: 15 oz chickpeas, 1/2 red onion, chopped small, 1/2 cucumber, chopped small, 1 tomato, chopped small, 2 Tbs red wine vinegar, 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar pinch of sugar & garlic powder, salt and pepper. Serve with slotted spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Hubby and I both loved this! I made some changes: 1/2 chopped green pepper instead of the cucumber, no onion (I don't like raw onion), small tomato's worth of sliced grape tomatoes, only a 1/4 c. of red wine vinegar and 1 t. sugar (1 T red wine vinegar + 1/2 t. sugar substitutes for balsamic vinegar, which hubby is allergic to - so for those who are not allergic to balsamic, this is equivalent to 2 T. red wine vinegar and 2 T. balsamic vinegar). I added in a dash of coriander, garlic powder, salt, and pepper per another reviewer's suggestion. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Ugh, too much vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States