Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very delicious with garden fresh tomatoes. Don't dice the onion too big. I like to add a little chopped fresh mint along with the fresh parsley or half parsley, half cilantro. DON"T use dried herbs in this recipie! Try adding crumbled feta cheese and sliced pitted Kalamata olives, if you like them. If not, regular black olives may be substituted. Prepare a couple of hours in advance for the flavors to marry. I also strongly prefer this served at room temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I made it for Christmas dinner as the healthy option and everyone loved it. I followed a couple suggestions from other reviews. 1) I used grape tomatoes rather than a regular tomato. 2) I used a little more garlic because you can never go wrong with more garlic. 3) I made sure to add fresh leaf spinach...so good! I also decided to add cilantro to the salad. Turned out great!! My husband is asking me to make this again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I added black sliced olives to this recipe...that extra color and flavor made it even better! Also, used about 4 medium sized (home grown) tomatoes instead of just one...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
very good salad! Added chopped green and kalamata olives and a splash of red wine vinegar, cucumber would be good added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Nice in its simplicity. Reduced oil to 2.5 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
very good, but found it needed a touch of red wine vinegar for some bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Great Salad!! I added a little feta cheese on top and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Really good salad! I made a few changes: I used a basket of Cherry tomatoes, cut in half; I also added a couple splashes of Balsamic Vinegar; and since my family LOVES Cilantro (I know many don't), added about 1 T. of freshly chopped Cilantro. It was sooo good. Very refreshing out on the deck. Garbanzos (and other legumes) are so healthy and very good to help control blood sugar, as well as adding fiber to the diet. So a healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
An easy to make, healthy, light summer salad. Great for a picnic. Added diced cucumber and red bell pepper and it came out prettier than the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is so fresh tasting and deliciuos! I used the dried chickpeas because I did not want mushy beans. I brought them to a boil and let them sit for an hour vs. soaking over night, rinsed them, and simmered them for two hours. I used a pint of grape tomatoes each cut in half and a half cup of kalamato olives cut into fourths. I plan to make this several times a year and will cook the beans ahead of time and freeze them to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States