Chickpea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Too many changes to rate this any highter. Dried parsley and basil already a turn-off--I used fresh. Also, I should have known better on the measurements of other ingredients. Amounts of oil and vinegar should be flip-flopped--three parts oil to one part vinegar. As written, and especially if you use a well-aged balsamic as I did, this was much too sweet. Finally the garlic--ohhhh, the garlic--I'm reeking of it an hour after I've eaten it, and I believe I'll still be tasting it, and my pores oozing of it, tomorrow. This was garlic overkill--and I LOVE garlic. This is a recipe that effectively takes a combination of perfect ingredients and totally ruins it. I should have used common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I usually add about 1 1/2 cups cooked couscous to this to serve as a complete meal. We like to put this salad in whole-wheat pitas with lettuce, plain yogurt and a dash of hot sauce... My husband really likes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I thought this was a good summer bean salad, but I made some changes. I left out the sweet onion and added green onions, b/c I was worried the raw onion would be too overpowering. I also left out the cucumber, b/c I don't like them. I added choped zucchini, diced red pepper, and a hand full of chopped fresh cilantro. This recipe is really better if you let it sit overnight to marinate before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe is great if you switch the amounts of vinegar and oil- 3T oil and 1 T vinegar. Doing that makes for a great summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Season Gardner Moore
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was pretty good! I doubled the parmasan, garlic and salt and also added pepper. I also added cooked couscous like someone suggested, I think the recipe as is is too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season Gardner Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is a delicious salad- very filling and tasty. I sauteed the onions and added red, yellow and green peppers to the dish. I also just used Italian seasoning in place of the parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was impressed with this recipe. Bearing in mind, I am not much of a vegitarian eater, but wanting to incorporate more of those kinds of dishes into my diet. For a first time chick pea eater, this was a pleasant surprise. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very nice, had run out of a couple of the herbs, had to improvise with a premix, still turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe is a great starting point. I didn't actually measure anything, I just threw everything in a bowl and mixed. I added a squeeze of lemon juice, a splash of wine vinegar, and a pinch of sugar. I only used one clove of garlic (and it was plenty!) Definitely leave the salad in the fridge for 45 mins- an hour to let the flavours come together. I was surprised when my husband loved it and said it was a keeper- I just used up whatever I had kicking around in the fridge! Love when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
On finished presentation, this dish looks rather scary -- the basalmic vinegar colors much of the veggies a rust-brown, creating what amounts to a somewhat disturbing-looking bowl of chickpea gulash. As for taste, there's nothing to write home about, and nothing really comes through except for the basalmic. Sub-par; there are better chickpea salad recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States