Chickpea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Too many changes to rate this any highter. Dried parsley and basil already a turn-off--I used fresh. Also, I should have known better on the measurements of other ingredients. Amounts of oil and vinegar should be flip-flopped--three parts oil to one part vinegar. As written, and especially if you use a well-aged balsamic as I did, this was much too sweet. Finally the garlic--ohhhh, the garlic--I'm reeking of it an hour after I've eaten it, and I believe I'll still be tasting it, and my pores oozing of it, tomorrow. This was garlic overkill--and I LOVE garlic. This is a recipe that effectively takes a combination of perfect ingredients and totally ruins it. I should have used common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I usually add about 1 1/2 cups cooked couscous to this to serve as a complete meal. We like to put this salad in whole-wheat pitas with lettuce, plain yogurt and a dash of hot sauce... My husband really likes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I thought this was a good summer bean salad, but I made some changes. I left out the sweet onion and added green onions, b/c I was worried the raw onion would be too overpowering. I also left out the cucumber, b/c I don't like them. I added choped zucchini, diced red pepper, and a hand full of chopped fresh cilantro. This recipe is really better if you let it sit overnight to marinate before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe is great if you switch the amounts of vinegar and oil- 3T oil and 1 T vinegar. Doing that makes for a great summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Season Gardner Moore
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was pretty good! I doubled the parmasan, garlic and salt and also added pepper. I also added cooked couscous like someone suggested, I think the recipe as is is too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season Gardner Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is a delicious salad- very filling and tasty. I sauteed the onions and added red, yellow and green peppers to the dish. I also just used Italian seasoning in place of the parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe is a great starting point. I didn't actually measure anything, I just threw everything in a bowl and mixed. I added a squeeze of lemon juice, a splash of wine vinegar, and a pinch of sugar. I only used one clove of garlic (and it was plenty!) Definitely leave the salad in the fridge for 45 mins- an hour to let the flavours come together. I was surprised when my husband loved it and said it was a keeper- I just used up whatever I had kicking around in the fridge! Love when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
On finished presentation, this dish looks rather scary -- the basalmic vinegar colors much of the veggies a rust-brown, creating what amounts to a somewhat disturbing-looking bowl of chickpea gulash. As for taste, there's nothing to write home about, and nothing really comes through except for the basalmic. Sub-par; there are better chickpea salad recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was impressed with this recipe. Bearing in mind, I am not much of a vegitarian eater, but wanting to incorporate more of those kinds of dishes into my diet. For a first time chick pea eater, this was a pleasant surprise. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The flavors are really good. Not loving the gritty texture of the chickpeas. Wondering if there's a better alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States