Chickpea Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was even better than I thought it would be. The dressing, with the lemon juice, was a light and refreshing departure from vinegar-based dressings. I left out the feta, but added chopped yellow pepper and cucumber, as well as fresh oregano and parsley. We and our out of town guests loved it. Just delicious, and a pretty and colorful addition to the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
Great recipe! Next time I make it, though, I will reduce the amt. of salt (was a little salty), and add some chopped cucumber. I cut the black olives in half. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
THIS WAS AWESOME! Anyone making this MUST use feta chese and kalamata (rich flavored Greek) olives.They go together like sauce and cheese on a pizza. Like others,I cut down on the onion and olive oil. Then I added some of the olive juice to the dressing. I also used whole cherry tomatoes (as someone said salad gets soggy in time), & some fresh parsley.Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Very tasty. I only added 1/2 of an onion and it was plenty and probably only 1/4 cup of olive oil. What a great combination with plenty of healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Not a bad start but it needs a little something else. The dressing is pretty bland as is. I ended up added some italian dressing and red pepper flakes to spice it up. This salad gets better the longer it marinates (30 mins isn't long enough, overnight is best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
Very easy to make. I didn't follow the receipe exactly as I couldn't have it right in front of me. Biggest tip, don't forget to chill, I didn't (in a hurry with a hungry kid at my feet) and the flavours didn't have time to mix until I was almost finished eating it. I skipped the olives(I hate them) and garlic(forgot to get at the grocery store) and still was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Delicious! I used farfalle, shallot (I prefer the milder flavor), and half the dressing, and I added fresh oregano for even more of a Greek flavor. This was easy and quick, and definitely something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love to make this salad, I like to add a seeded cucumber cubed! Yummy! Its so fresh and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe has all the ingredients that I love in a pasta salad under one roof, which is great. But I do think that it kind of slacks on the dressing. I mixed it all together, threw in almost a whole cucumber chopped because I was craving the crunch and water content, then tasted it. Nothing. I expect it will come together nicely overnight in the fridge, but just to be on the safe side I sprinkled it very generously with a "black olive, red pepper & mint" salad seasoning combo that I have in my pantry. Tasted it again and it rocked. Can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow. Really a very lovely combination of things. It will probably become a favourite pasta salad of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
Very easy and quick! I left out the olives and used bow tie pasta instead of macaroni. I also left out the garlic clove and used 1tbsp of garlic powder just because I forgot to buy garlic and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States