Chickpea Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Perfect! I wouldn't do a thing to the flavouring (That's crazy, coming from me!). Feel free to add other veg, but this is a perfect recipe. HOWEVER, I hate macaroni pasta, so I went with fusili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I think this salad is a o k. The dressing was different then a vinegar based salad dressing I'm used to. I feel it needed some spices in the flavor department. I think that's what I felt it was lacking. I did use Roma tomatoes and scooped out the seeds, used red onions and I found feta crumbles that were seasoned with garlic and herbs. I made the recipe as written otherwise. But I will never ever use Walmarts brand of garbanzo beans ever again. Not sure what the cannery was thinking when they put them babies in the can, but they were hard as bricks. For warning everyone on that note. It was the 4th can I had in stock in my pantry that was that way...I'll buy Allen's brand from now on, I get my self to save a few cents a can for that. Won't be doing that again. But all in all the recipe just lacked some flavor. I wanted it to sing "Amen" because I love every ingredient used. It just didn't win me over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great salad and easy to make. Recipe makes quite a lot but I just kept in the fridge for several days. Tastes better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
this was absolutely delicious. i used more black olives because i love them and even added a sliced cucumber. healthy, easy and tastes even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebs_wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this pasta salad is pretty good. the dressing is very light and adds a bit of flavor, but the other ingredients are what add the pop to the salad. I think some fresh herbs would be a good addition, and I added turkey bacon and avocado at the last minute since I had leftovers in the fridge. It was a good addition. If you are expecting a bold dressing, either use another dressing or keep looking since this dressing is not that. I made this about 24 hours before we ate it and it was good. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for lunch for a friend and myself, and we both appreciated how fresh and delicious it was. Like the other reviewers, I'd also recommend letting it sit in the fridge the specified amount of time. I'd also add that it doesn't keep for very long, not that you'll have a problem eating it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Fantastic! I love pasta salads and my husband loves greek salads and this is like a combination of both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This pasta salad was delicious! I have already made this recipe twice which is rare for me! I followed the instructions but added cucumber one time and peas (frozen, tossed in at the end of the pasta time) another time. I reduced the amount of oil used as well and it was still great. I will continue to make this delicious easy recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
THIS WAS AWESOME! Anyone making this MUST use feta chese and kalamata (rich flavored Greek) olives.They go together like sauce and cheese on a pizza. Like others,I cut down on the onion and olive oil. Then I added some of the olive juice to the dressing. I also used whole cherry tomatoes (as someone said salad gets soggy in time), & some fresh parsley.Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was very tasty when I first made it but seemed to lose it's flavor by the next day when I served it. Definitely a keeper if served within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States