Chickpea Falafel Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
These are delicious! A few changes: I definitely needed to add a cup plus a dash more of breadcrumbs to get the whole thing to stick together... I'd recommend starting with 1/2 a cup and adding more slowly until you get a good texture for rolling the burgers. Also, I agree that the curry might have been a little much, and may try cutting some of it in favor of more cumin and maybe some paprika next time. However, the cooked mushrooms and scallions are a wonderful touch and the burgers were great! (Crumbling problems can be solved by rolling the balls very well between your hands before flattening them into burgers.) I served mine on a sesame whole grain bun with tahini and a big slice of tomato, and put some greens tossed with a little more tahini on the side. I'm definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I loved this recipe!! Since I'm not a fan of mushrooms, I eliminated them added 2T. flour and about 1/4c. oats to fill out the mixture. The texture was ideal for falafel, and was delicious served on whole wheat pita with sliced tomato and fat free sour cream. Will definitely make again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I think I would have liked this recipe even better if I would have left out the curry. It seemed to overpower the other flavors. I only used 2 tsp. 1 1/2 Tbls seemed like it would be too much. I served it on pita bread with yogurt sauce and veggies. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a bit to make falafel balls. I ground fresh croutons umbs in the fodo processor to get about 1 cup of bread crumbs, added the drained chickpeas and discarded all the liquid, one white onion, 6 cloves of garlic, a hand full of fresh parsley, salt, pepper, cumin and a dash of red pepper flakes and gave it a whir in the food processor until it formed a really dry mix then added 3 medium eggs- one at a time to get a cookie dough consistency. I used my cookie scoop to make the balls and then rolle dthem in bread crumbs before giving them a dunk in the deep fryer. Served with a cucumber, lemon and sour cream sauce. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These were very tasty but they need a few minor changes. First, I would drain the chickpeas and reserve the liquid, then add a little at a time until you get the right consistency. I used the whole can and it was very loose. I added more bread crumbs to "firm" it up, but that made it taste too "bready." I didn't have any mushrooms when I made these so I substituted grated carrots. It was delicious and gave them a little more color. I will definitely make these again! Thanks, Jojo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Very good. Took a lot of work for a novice like myself, but all in all worth it. I baked instead of fried to make it a little healthier, and served with spicy mustard. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
These were delicious! The only thing I changed was that I added 1/2 tsp. of a mediterannean spice blend instead of the curry powder. Next time, I would also eliminate the water from the chick peas so the mixture would stick together better. My husband loved it too, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I tried it twice, in case I had messed up the recipe initially, but no. These babies crumbled like feta. Also, the cooking process was a tad dangerous. Maybe a deep fryer would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
They were very yummy. I had to add more breadcrumbs and one more egg white to hold it all together. And didn't add as much curry powder either. I made small patties and served them with Tzatziki. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I had never made falafel from scratch until trying this out, and it exceeded my expectations. I didn't have cilantro or curry powder on hand so I left them out, but it was still great without them. I also broiled the patties in the oven with brushed on vegetable oil rather than frying. They got nice and crispy with less fat required! I then stuffed the patties in pita pockets with sliced cucumber, tomato, avocado, and fresh spinach with a lemon tahini dressing. DELICIOUS. I will definitely make this meal at least a few times a month from now on! Even my meat-loving husband loved this vegetarian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANIENOEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States