Chickpea Falafel Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I think I would have liked this recipe even better if I would have left out the curry. It seemed to overpower the other flavors. I only used 2 tsp. 1 1/2 Tbls seemed like it would be too much. I served it on pita bread with yogurt sauce and veggies. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I did use only 1 1/2 tsp of curry (because I can't imagine using more than that in this recipe), and not only did they taste nothing like real falafel, but the consistency of the patties was just plain mushy. i will never make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I loved this recipe!! Since I'm not a fan of mushrooms, I eliminated them added 2T. flour and about 1/4c. oats to fill out the mixture. The texture was ideal for falafel, and was delicious served on whole wheat pita with sliced tomato and fat free sour cream. Will definitely make again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was ok but I dont think I will make it again. I served it with a yoghurt sauce and in pita bread with cucumbers and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I tried it twice, in case I had messed up the recipe initially, but no. These babies crumbled like feta. Also, the cooking process was a tad dangerous. Maybe a deep fryer would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Tastes great, but I found I needed to add a lot more bread crumbs otherwise the mixture went to crumbs while frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Spangler McKendry
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Had to do a little tweaking to make this work... I reduced the amount of curry to about half a tablespoon. Had to add extra bread crumbs because the mixture was super gloppy. Next time I might leave out some of the chickpea liquid to try to compensate for that. Overall, very delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Spangler McKendry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manchester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I actually added a little more egg white to keep the batter together AND I added some minced up greek olives! Whoa, awesome! (not sure why one commenter said that it was dangerous frying food, but maybe they should get in the kitchen and try cooking a little more often. It gets less scary the more you learn ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettohara66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Made these last night and they were just awesome, and so filling..... i want them again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed these. Instead of making burgers, I rolled them into smaller balls to make falafel balls instead of burgers. We really liked them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States