Chickpea Falafel Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I've made this recipe a few times now and my husband for a not vegetarian sure eats down fast. It's good stuff!! I don't really modify it. It's good as is I find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe. I only used 1 tsp. of curry as others had suggested and that seemed like it was just the right amount. I drained half of the liquid from the beans but I ended up having to add almost a quarter cup more bread crumbs to get the right consistency so next time I'm going to drain all of it. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very good! Batter wasn't easily "shape-able" so I just placed spoonfuls in the pan to begin the cooking process--and as they cooked they held their shape. I used "Nature's Own" garbanzo beans to cut back the amount of sodium in the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These were also yummy. The ideal consistency was really challenging. Would add only the liquid from 1 can of garbanzo beans instead of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These were good. A nice healthy dish. They needed some sort of sauce to jazz them up- but other than that they were great. Because I don't like to fry things, I made patties, froze them, and then put them on a medium heat skillet frozen. They turned out perfectly crispy on the outside, just like if they were fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Pretty good. I used eggbeaters and cumin/coriander/cayenne instead of curry. Served it in whole wheat pita with yogurt sauce and raw onion. Family liked the addition of mushrooms as a change from the usual falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a bit to make falafel balls. I ground fresh croutons umbs in the fodo processor to get about 1 cup of bread crumbs, added the drained chickpeas and discarded all the liquid, one white onion, 6 cloves of garlic, a hand full of fresh parsley, salt, pepper, cumin and a dash of red pepper flakes and gave it a whir in the food processor until it formed a really dry mix then added 3 medium eggs- one at a time to get a cookie dough consistency. I used my cookie scoop to make the balls and then rolle dthem in bread crumbs before giving them a dunk in the deep fryer. Served with a cucumber, lemon and sour cream sauce. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Delicious! I added 1 Tb tahini to processor, and halved the curry, and it was perfect for me.FYI- everything went into the processor (breadcrumbs last) except onions and mushrooms, which I stirred in after every thing else was mixed.This recipe is a keeper.Thanks, Jojo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hobbs
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Pretty much followed the recipe, but omitted the mushrooms (for my husband) and substituted 1/2 cup oats and 2 tbsp. flour as suggested by another review. I also only added some of the chickpea liquid. The burgers came out crisp on the outside, but the texture inside was a little too mushy and didn't remind me of a "real" falafel. With a little tweaking I think it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I loved the texture and flavor, but hated how messy they were. I think perhaps next time I'll add less bread crumbs so that they stick together better. I served them with a sour cream/lime juice dressing on whole wheat potato rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States