Chickpea Falafel Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
turned out great. did need more breadcrumbs than called for. didn't have cilantro so i used some dried basil and it turned out great. cut the curry by 1/2tsp and upped the cumin by same amount. did find that the middle of the patties was mushy, maybe i made the patties too thick?? great flavor. served w/ some mushroom Quiona and tahini recipe from allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I had never made falafel from scratch until trying this out, and it exceeded my expectations. I didn't have cilantro or curry powder on hand so I left them out, but it was still great without them. I also broiled the patties in the oven with brushed on vegetable oil rather than frying. They got nice and crispy with less fat required! I then stuffed the patties in pita pockets with sliced cucumber, tomato, avocado, and fresh spinach with a lemon tahini dressing. DELICIOUS. I will definitely make this meal at least a few times a month from now on! Even my meat-loving husband loved this vegetarian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANIENOEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
my daughter who is a vegetarian, realy liked these, but I also found them too sticky to handle after adding extra breadcrumbs. I put my hands in flour before shaping them. Will definitely have these again, without the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
You need to drain the liquid from the garbanzo beans! This was way too runny to form anything, and we had to increase the amount of bread crumbs and mushrooms to compensate for the excess liquid. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Really good. We combined a couple of recipes. We didn't have mushrooms, but they'd probably be really good. Also, used 2x beans and no eggs. Pan fried one side, then flipped and finished in the oven. Even the kids enjoyed it. Served on pitas w/ lettuce and Trader Joe's Tadziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These are unbelievable! I skipped the green onions and traded the mushrooms for some whole wheat flour to thicken it up. Served with some homemade tahini sauce in pitas and they're a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My three year old likes them...so it gets high marks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious recipe! I added a little bit of cayenne pepper (about 1/4 tsp.), and only used 1 tablespoon of curry powder. Also used some extra bread crumbs to help everything stick together. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These were really good! Next time I might make more two paddies per serving instead of one so I can make them a little flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was my first attempt at making falafel, and I found it to be a perfect recipe to start with. I, too, found that more bread crumbs were needed to make the patties hold shape, but they taste divine! I made the patties much smaller and refrigerated them so I could reheat them for my toddler's lunches, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States