Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
It was too spicy for my tastes, and not enough sauce. I used chicken broth instead of the liquid from the chickpeas, added some cooked chicken and some canned diced tomatoes, which added to the sauce. Not bad to work with, will tone down some of the spice perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Curths
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is so good! I did add chicken with the onions and served it over rice. I ended up using home cooked Garbanzo beans. Be sure to add the liquid you cooked them in so the dish isn't dry. Otherwise, I didn't change anything. I will be adding this quick yummy meal to my weeknight repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Curths

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I am Indian and this tastes great. Once I did not have ginger and left it out and still tasted very good. Often I leave out the cinnamon as well. As a variation, I have added a diced up tomato for color but be careful because it can make it too thin. As another variation, I have added about 1 and 1/2 cups raw cauliflower after the chick peas (having added a little extra 1/2tsp cumin, coriander, turmeric and chili) and let it cook in the liquid - my picky (Indian) dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We really enjoyed this! I used 2 tsp of garlic ginger paste and a little bit of dried, minced garlic. I also substituted ground spices for the cinnamon and clove. I rinsed the two cans of chickpeas and added a whole can of diced tomatoes! Honestly, this recipe can call for two cans. We added one large chopped potato. Also, I threw everything into a slow cooker and came home to a beautiful aroma. Next time I think I'll add cauliflower and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The was awesome!! We added more spices, and chicken. It was so good and do spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My family and I loved this recipe. Substituted ground cinnamon and doubled the seasoning measurements for some extra pow! Will try adding potatoes next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Dowdy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very quick & easy recipe. If you have a stocked spice rack already then this one probably won't cost you more than $10 and it'll last for four-five meals :) Highly recommend, I liked the slight kick it had too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Dowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BIBI LIT
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Gave this recipe a try last night, and I am very pleased. I made it for my mother. I drained most of the canned chick peas liquid. From both cans total, I'd say that I only used about 1 cup of liquid. I did this to cut back on sodium. I also used 1- 1 1/2 tablespoons of curry instead of turmeric. I used one dash of cayenne pepper. And I also added fresh cherry tomatoes into this dish. And I didn't use an coriander or salt. Recipe was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIBI LIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was great! I used canned chick peas and included the water from the can in the recipe. I may use veggie or chicken broth next time. Used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon as I did not have the sticks. Cut the cloves down to 4 as I don't really like them and cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon because I'm a wimp. I didn't use quite as much cilantro and used dried as that was all I had on hand. The flavor that resulted was wonderful meld of a sweet cinnamon start with a peppery bite at the end. My husband, who specifically hates chick peas, was savoring these one by one. I served it with the Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala and chipotle lime rice here on the site. Possibly the best dinner that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States