Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Yum! My sister is a vegetarian and doesn't cook, so if she ever wants something home-made.. she comes to my home. We all liked this, even us meatier types... I did take the advice others gave though, and added tomatoes and their juice instead of the canned garbanzo liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I couldn't believe all my kids ate it! I thought it was pretty good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
After all the positive reviews, I was very disappointed in this. The dish had heat but very little flavour. In the end I had to add extra garlic and ginger, a tin of tomatoes, a couple of cardamoms, black pepper and a couple of spoonsful of tikka masala paste I had in the store cupboard for it to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I have brand new spices and this recipe didn't turn out well at all. I just wasted two cans of garbanzo beans. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was pretty good, but it could just be because I'm really hungry? I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon in place of the cinnamon sticks. I didn't find this to be bland like others did, so like another reviewer suggested, maybe your spices are just really old. The cayenne added a nice kick. I used 1 small onion, 2 would be too many. I found that even though I cooked this a little longer than the recipe indicated, I still had crunchy bits. I think I'll throw in the ginger with the onion to make sure it gets cooked and then I'll let the whole thing simmer covered for 20 minutes or so to soften it. Also, I liked another reviewer's suggestion to mash up some of the beans to add thickness. Overall, good and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
too spicy, not sure what people were talking about when they said there isn't any spice... kinda boring as well. And too much cilantro for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This came out quite well. I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the ginger, cumin, coriander, and turmeric. I also threw in a little curry powder I had. I also added a diced baked potato with the chick peas. It ended up being a bit dry, but adding some water worked just fine. It also ended up being a tad bit spicy with just the rice but combining with some plain yogurt from the supermarket works really well. Also, for reference: 2 tsp fresh ginger root = 1 tsp ground ginger; 6 whole cloves = 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1 inch cinnamon stick = 1 tsp ground cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessajbaca
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This came out delicious, but I made substantial changes so I'm giving it 4 stars. I used garlic oil, 1 red onion and three tablespoons of minced garlic. I used dried ginger, dried cinnamon, turmeric and dried cumin - and I doubled the spices. Sauteed together for about 5 mins, then added 1 can of garbanzo beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes, both in their juices. I added a small can of coconut milk (for creaminess), a dash of fish sauce, some vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon, and fresh chopped cilantro and simmered for 30 mins. Oh yes, and I added a dollop of red curry paste I had left over, as I had no garam masala. It is an excellent base for many different types of curries. I was very pleased. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Added extra can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed them, and added vegetable broth for moisture. Yum!!!! A new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States