Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by vanessajbaca
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This came out delicious, but I made substantial changes so I'm giving it 4 stars. I used garlic oil, 1 red onion and three tablespoons of minced garlic. I used dried ginger, dried cinnamon, turmeric and dried cumin - and I doubled the spices. Sauteed together for about 5 mins, then added 1 can of garbanzo beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes, both in their juices. I added a small can of coconut milk (for creaminess), a dash of fish sauce, some vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon, and fresh chopped cilantro and simmered for 30 mins. Oh yes, and I added a dollop of red curry paste I had left over, as I had no garam masala. It is an excellent base for many different types of curries. I was very pleased. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Added extra can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed them, and added vegetable broth for moisture. Yum!!!! A new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
pretty good. im not sure how many times i will use those spices again tho. my family doesn't eat curry too much and most of those spice are used for curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I would rate this as good. Had very good flavor! I didn't crush the cinnamon, but just broke up and took out the pieces when we ate it. Were we suppose to eat the cinnamon sticks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Easy, tasty, and will make again. Followed the advice of others and used ground cinnamon. I omitted the ground coriander salt as I did not have it, and decreased the amount of cayenne pepper. Next time I probably will add spinach. Planned to take some for lunch, however my family ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I was excited to try this recipe as I love chickpeas and all curry dishes. Unfortunately, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out way too spicy! I would suggest only used 1/3 or less of a teaspoon of cayenne and then taste it before adding more. I wanted to throw the batch out after having one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Nice healthy recipe to get chickpeas in your diet. Thanks for uploading. Changes I made: As suggested by others, added a tin of chopped tomatoes and a handful of spinach. Also added some sultanas (may try honey next time) since the dish to me seemed to be lacking sweetness. Served with some toasted pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Awesome recipe. Thanks for the suggestion to add a can of diced tomatoes. Would also recommend doubling the spices. Enjoy you won't be disappoined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is such an easy, cheap and fast recipe. We ate it with rice and salad, and it was delicious! I also like to make extra, keep in refrigerator, and then serve in a tortilla as a wrap. Wonderful! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States