Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was my first go at making an Indian dish and I was not disappointed. As per other reviews, I drained the canned chickpeas and subbed in a can of diced tomatoes, and I threw in a couple handfuls of baby spinach. I also used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as opposed to crushing sticks. Next time I may use ground cloves instead of whole. I picked out all but one before I served it (I found the last one in my bowl halfway through eating it). Since other reviewers commented on the level of spiciness, I cut the cayenne pepper in half just to be safe. I asked my husband afterwards what he thought and he said that next time I should use the full amount. We both enjoy spicy food, so it may not be for everyone. I served the curry over basmati rice (I also found that recipe on this site) and it was delicious! My husband is a picky eater and he really enjoyed it, and he even got to the leftovers before I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious!! Added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of sour cream as added too much cayenne and wow! It is even more to my taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Finally I found the chickpea curry recipe I've been looking for. This is not spicy like some other recipes I've found on-line. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I give this 4 stars with the addition of fresh chopped tomatoes. The liquid from the tomatoes also helps the chickpeas cook longer and stay moist. Doesn't even really need the fresh cilantro. The broken up cinnamon stick is spicy! I also like the addition of the whole clove. I used ginger powder because I didn't have the fresh ginger but will use it next time. I added some mild green chilies from my garden although it doesn't really need it, with the cayenne pepper giving it heat.Thanks, a good curry base I can use with other things. I like to eat Indian-style chickpeas with store-bought tandoori naan that I heat up on my gas stove using the open flame and tongs, then spread with butter. Trader Joe's has a decent naan,and even our Safeway imports a decent one. Our best naan-type bread is homemade (secret recipe) from our nearby Lebanese restaurant! They call it pita but it tastes like naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I wanted to make this a meal so I added fresh spinach, tomatoes and prawns. My husband loved it, but it was way too spicy for me!! The flavor was really delicious, I just couldn't eat it. I made rice to eat it with left overs and that helped some with the heat. I didn't notice any other comments about it being too hot, so maybe I did something differently and didn't notice. Will try again with tweaking to reduce the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My go-to chickpea curry recipe- delicious, simple, fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I'm not normally into vegetarian type dishes, but this was deliciously flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas DiOrio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
this was so good! i omitted the cayenne because my family doesn't like spice. also followed other recommendations and used ground cinnamon and ground cloves. i put it over quinoa and it was very filling. the next day leftovers tasted even better~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was my first curry ever and it was delicious. Super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States