Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I added extra spices and it didn't turn out right. I added spinach to add some greens. Will try again with vegetable stock and more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I was looking for something simple, tasty, cheap, and would last me a good amount of time (I'm a left over person). I read way too many reviews but bunched together what i thought were the best and created something fantastic. I doubled the coriander and cumin and used a little less than 2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of sticks. I also added 1 tsp chaat masala and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (with sauce) with the garbanzo beans. I threw in potatoe flakes at the end to thicken the sauce. Put it on top of my curry rice recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Nice and easy to make. Definitely a little hot/spicy, but a solid meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe is great. The spices for the curry flavor can be used on a variety of other foods and vegetables as well. Generally speaking, I only use about half of the turmeric. Otherwise, it has too much of that chalky taste. Also, feel free to add other vegetables when you add the chickpeas. Chopped fresh green beans works well. You might want to add 1/4 cup chicken broth to give it more liquid if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I’m new to cooking with curry. This is my 4th or 5th recipe. All the others called for curry powder as opposed to adding all the ingredients separately like this one. What a difference!! This had way more flavor. This is my favorite curry recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I am definitely going to make it again, but this time, I'm going to rehydrate garbanzo beans, instead of using canned. Somehow, this didn't taste like much and had to add more spice. I'm not counting this recipe out, but if I find it didn't taste any better with fresh chickpeas, I'm done with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Good, but I thought there were too many different spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
It turned out beautiful looking with the perfect liquid consistency. But, the red pepper was completely overpowering. I used some sour cream to tone down the heat and ate it with Naan bread. I also agree that there is something missing. I will probably try it again using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thank you! Started from dried and made a delicious Wednesday evening dinner. We will eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very nice! I added a half diced tomato to it and garnished with cilantro. Just like my ma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States