Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is coming from a person who makes curried chickpeas in a lot of ways and has been eating since childhood. Try lime juice to add tartness to this and yes, please add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really good recipe AND super easy! I also tried it with baby yellow potatoes and adding a little cream which I think I liked even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
We made this after making 'Spinach Chick Pea Curry' also on this site. I recommend this recipe instead!! The cinnamon in this is overpowering, this tasted more like cookies than curry. Also, this recipe is doubled from what to me would be a normal size. My boyfriend made sure that I would give this rating the lowest possible. We will never make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was pretty good but I would give it 5 stars had it been a little saucier and more reminiscent of the Indian chickpea curries I love. I did follow the directions except used non canned beans so for the liquid I added a little veggie broth. I used ground ginger and cinnamon instead. Next time I might try same spices but add tomatoes and potatoes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The dish was so-so, but not very fun and not worth the effort. Lacked complexity in flavor, which is odd considering the number of spices. We added spinach and a chopped tomato but it didn't help much. Other modifications included: using a cup of water instead of the bean liquid and not adding salt until the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This had the potential to be really good. I followed the recipe, except for adding a little bit of heavy cream and served it over jasmine rice. The end result was just WAY too spicy. I would make it again, but next time I think 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper would be more than enough. I couldn't even finish a small serving and my mouth is still burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is delicious! I made half the recipe because I didn’t think my kids would like it. After eating their food, they devoured what was left of this dish. My daughter asked me to make it again tomorrow. I ate this with a salad and it made a filling meal. This will become a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! Very quick and perfect for introducing someone to curry (as I did last night)! Added quite a bit more spice and thinly sliced carrots, celery, mushrooms, and green pepper, though. Brown rice works very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious, healthy, and cheap! Added diced tomatoes and kale- fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Ok, I feel bad giving this a 3 but It's just not very good without adding your own alterations. I made the recipe "as is" and was NOT happy with the flavour. After adding Curry, potato, sweet potato, salt, and a couple Tbl. of heavy cream. It was good enough to eat. Still not mind blowing. Great base though. Thank you Served with "Indian Saffron Rice" & Naan both recipes found on this site as well... TRY THE NAAN! It's easy and TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States