Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This had the potential to be really good. I followed the recipe, except for adding a little bit of heavy cream and served it over jasmine rice. The end result was just WAY too spicy. I would make it again, but next time I think 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper would be more than enough. I couldn't even finish a small serving and my mouth is still burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is delicious! I made half the recipe because I didn’t think my kids would like it. After eating their food, they devoured what was left of this dish. My daughter asked me to make it again tomorrow. I ate this with a salad and it made a filling meal. This will become a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! Very quick and perfect for introducing someone to curry (as I did last night)! Added quite a bit more spice and thinly sliced carrots, celery, mushrooms, and green pepper, though. Brown rice works very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious, healthy, and cheap! Added diced tomatoes and kale- fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Ok, I feel bad giving this a 3 but It's just not very good without adding your own alterations. I made the recipe "as is" and was NOT happy with the flavour. After adding Curry, potato, sweet potato, salt, and a couple Tbl. of heavy cream. It was good enough to eat. Still not mind blowing. Great base though. Thank you Served with "Indian Saffron Rice" & Naan both recipes found on this site as well... TRY THE NAAN! It's easy and TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Delicious! I agree with those reviewers who said this is the right amount of spices if you use fresh (and freshly ground.) Highly recommend buying a $20 spice grinder, makes a big difference for dishes like thsi. I also added a couple potatoes (steamed and cut into 1"-2" cubes) and it added some nice texture alterations. Only weird thing was biting into a whole clove or piece of cinnamon - I'd recommend crushing the cinnamon to the point that the pieces are quite small and taking the cloves out after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
SOOOOOOO GOOOOOODDDD!!! I use this all the time, when I am serving it to my friends, I go light on the spices, but for me I use them all. I love spice!!! This is a great meal for a vegetarian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Cramer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
An okay recipe. I added cream to the mixture to make it more saucy. Omit the cilantro. Good blend of spices with flavors at the beginning and the end of bites. I think that there would be better recipes to try that wouldn't take the adjusting that I needed to do to get a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great ant easy recipe ! It is very fast to make, and my husband loved it. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I followed others suggestion and added canned tomatoes. This is excellent with the Kiwi Raita recipe, which is a complement to the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States