Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I love this recipe :-) However, I do have my own spin on it. I use the same spice ratio but use only one can of chickpeas. Then I add one sweet potato, one or two carrots (depending on the size), and a can of crushed tomatoes. I cut up the root veggies into bit-size pieces. I also add the starchy liquid from the chickpeas to thicken it up. I serve the dish over couscous. We love this dish and eat it about once a week. It's full of good veggies, nutrients, and very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tekonsha, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Good curry that satisfies my cravings for Indian food. However, when I make it it seems like the beans don't seem to absorb enough of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe was ok, I give it 3.5 stars as is (with no modifications). I will make it again though. Next time I will use fresh ginger instead of the powder ginger... I think this is key.... something was missing though, I don't know what it was... the chickpeas were way too dry and I had to add water.... also the cayenne pepper is REALLY HOT and SPICY!, next time I'll add way less than what the recipe calls for... My chickpeas were soooo hot that I added some coconut milk to make it more mild... I also added some sugar, perhaps 2 tablespoons... At the end of the day my recipe was totally different than what I intended to do. It turned out pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaVeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'd give this a 4.5, really. It was very good, even my hubby ate it, and he's most definitely NOT into beans of any sort. I served it over Jasmine rice, since that's what I had on hand. (Basmati rice would be more authentic). I did have to change the spices, since I didn't have all of them. So, I skipped the seasonings from the ginger on down, and used about 2 Tbs. of Rogan Josh seasoning from Penzey's Spices. (check them out!!) It's a blend of paprika, garlic, ginger, cumin, coriander, black pepper, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves and saffron. It was a very authentic Indian taste, and a nice bite to it. (not something I could give my kids, unfortunately) I'm sure, looking at the ingredient list, that it was pretty close to what the original recipe would taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fantastic! Cheap, healthy, quick, and delicious. The only thing I would change is add a little bit less of the cayenne. My face is still sweating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is coming from a person who makes curried chickpeas in a lot of ways and has been eating since childhood. Try lime juice to add tartness to this and yes, please add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really good recipe AND super easy! I also tried it with baby yellow potatoes and adding a little cream which I think I liked even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
We made this after making 'Spinach Chick Pea Curry' also on this site. I recommend this recipe instead!! The cinnamon in this is overpowering, this tasted more like cookies than curry. Also, this recipe is doubled from what to me would be a normal size. My boyfriend made sure that I would give this rating the lowest possible. We will never make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe was pretty good but I would give it 5 stars had it been a little saucier and more reminiscent of the Indian chickpea curries I love. I did follow the directions except used non canned beans so for the liquid I added a little veggie broth. I used ground ginger and cinnamon instead. Next time I might try same spices but add tomatoes and potatoes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The dish was so-so, but not very fun and not worth the effort. Lacked complexity in flavor, which is odd considering the number of spices. We added spinach and a chopped tomato but it didn't help much. Other modifications included: using a cup of water instead of the bean liquid and not adding salt until the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States