Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe was great and easy to make. I made a large batch and served over brown rice. The leftovers were just as delicious. I can't handle cilantro so I omitted it - the curry was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is pretty good! I made a smaller batch for myself since I'm the only one home for lunch this afternoon. I agree that this recipe needs some veggies--I'd definitely add a can of diced tomatoes next time, and maybe add some garam masala to it, but otherwise I find it delicious. Very easy and quick too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
very easy, and tasty. I doubled the dry spices except for the red pepper (by the way, I used 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon), I used one large onion, and I used the liquid from only one of the cans of chickpeas and drained the other can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Big fan of this recipe! Had an intense craving for Indian this morning, and I love chickpeas, so this was the way to go, and I don't regret it! I didn't have coriander or tumeric on hand so omitted them, as well as the cilantro at the end (I was so eager to try it, I forgot till I was already halfway done with it). Added appx. 1/2 tsp yellow curry powder, which gave it an extra nice kick. Warning: Use the cayenne to taste - everyone's preferences for spice are different. I probably would have used 1/2 the amount: my face is still burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I added two chopped fresh tomatoes at the end--easy and inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Good, cheap, and very easy. Must put a can of tomatos in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Underboss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It was ok...maybe the beans should stew for a big longer. I also had to add a lot more spices and about 4x more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I love this recipe...easy to make and tastes fantastic. I cut out the cayenne pepper as I'm not a big fan of spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I made this recipe as directed, but added four cooked cubed potatoes and a can of diced tomatoes, just to give it something extra and make it stretch further. I left out the chickpea juice and added chicken broth instead. I made it at night and intended to make rice the next day to go along with it, but it was so good I never got around to making the rice! It tastes better the next day when the flavors have had a chance to blend. Will make again and again, and will try to make the rice at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
To use dry chickpeas instead of canned you will need to boil them for about 5 mins, discard the water, soak overnight, then cook in a pressure cooker for about ten mins. 1/2 tsp of gauram masala added just prior to serving makes a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States